Jump to content
  • 0

Piling into melee moves


Carnivore
 Share

Question

Hello Ladies and Gentlemen!

I have a question, that is so simple, but as we all know, we often don't remember details of the simplest things correct.

When going into melee combat by charging, we have to move up to 1/2" to any enemy model, with at least one of our models. That's that as I remember correct.

But now my question:

When a unit is activated, that is within 3" of an enemy and does a pile in move, can it already hit the enemy group, when it is only within range?

Let us say it has 2" range, wants to pile in, but can't get base to base with at least one model. Can it hit the enemy by just being in range, as it has piled in up to that 2" range?
And if so, wouldn't the charge rules become redundant then?

cheers///

Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 3
2 minutes ago, Carnivore said:

Hello Ladies and Gentlemen!

I have a question, that is so simple, but as we all know, we often don't remember details of the simplest things correct.

When going into melee combat by charging, we have to move up to 1/2" to any enemy model, with at least one of our models. That's that as I remember correct.

But now my question:

When a unit is activated, that is within 3" of an enemy and does a pile in move, can it already hit the enemy group, when it is only within range?

Let us say it has 2" range, wants to pile in, but can't get base to base with at least one model. Can it hit the enemy by just being in range, as it has piled in up to that 2" range?
And if so, wouldn't the charge rules become redundant then?

cheers///

You just need to be in range with a melee weapon to make an attack, base to base isn't a requirement.

Charging prevents units being able to just wander up to each other and fight. Unless someone charges, piling in cannot happen as charging (and subsequent pile-ins) are the only way that the 3" bubble around units can be broken (special rules notwithstanding).

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...