Finishing games with death....

Opposix

I recently attended a 5 game tournament (crimbobo) and had an absolute blast with my death army.

Out of the 5 games I played I only managed to reach turn 5 once. I am still relatively new to Aos 2 and playing death, however I felt that the horde nature of death was partly responsible for this.
My list isn't even full on horde either I was running one block of 40 skelletons and 20 grave guard. The rest was all hero's, 10 black knights and 6 spirit hosts.
I was using movement trays, I grouped my dice in blocks of ten to speed up rolling, I was actively trying to play quickly by avoiding decision paralysis and just getting on with it (often at the expense of good tactical desicions...) still I found it difficult to get past turn 3 by dice down.

The main areas I identified as contributing to this were:

1. Having to roll so many dice.

- often I was having to roll 50-100 attacks with my grave guard, skelletons and black knights, then with van hels rolling them all again, then opponent armour saves.... The sheer number of dice being rolled took a significant amount of my turn up. As the attacks are all low quality this often only results in a few wounds going through relative to the amount of attacks.

2. Piling in

- Movement trays are all well and good but when it comes to complex pile in moves they can't really be used. Piling in 40 skelletons around scenery and enemy models while being fair and accurate takes time (not to mention it's backbreaking over 5 games) some turns I was doing 40 skelletons and 20 grave guard, that's a lot of models...

3. Hero phase

- having so much to do each hero phase can also take time, healing units with grave sites/hero abilities, casting 5 spells and resolving all of them. Using a command ability to res and redeploy a previously slain unit.