How to deal with a Behemoth

Tibus367

I am new to Age of Sigmar here.  A couple friends and I attempted to get a Path to Glory campaign going which seemed pretty fun against armies with a similar structure to my own (I created a Deamons of Khorne army containing a Blood Throne, a unit of Bloodcrushers, Bloodletters, and a Skullmaster).  But once I started a battle with another new player who had a Serephon army that had a Saurus Oldblood on Carnasaur things seemed real out of balance.  I expected the battle to be a fair fight as we both had similar pitched battle point values and followed the rules in the Path to Glory rules.  I started with the initiative and moved toward and objective.  Then the Carnasaur charged in and ate my Bloodcrushers....all of them.  Rolled for initiative and my friend won.  So he ate my Skullmaster.  Half my army was gone before I ever got a chance to raise my sword.  He didn't even have to use any of his other units on the table.  After that I knew I didn't have the power to take down that Carnasaur so I just tried to get as many victory points as I could but the battle was already over.  We both agreed that the battle wasn't very fun that way.

Obviously my strategy for handling this monster is far off.  We played around with these models a few different ways but it pretty much always came out the same.  Half his army (Saurus Oldblood on Carnasaur) uses up all their attacks early in the combat phase and it is hard for what is left of my army to recover after that.  Nether one of us is interested in fighting a battle where the victory is already assured by one person.  How am I supposed to handle this monster?

There's a few things you can do in this scenario:

1) Khorne has probably the best anti-Behemoth unit in the game with Wrathmongers.  Use his own model against him!