The Savage (Gorill)orcs or Togunclaw Tribe

Binary

Hi guys. As this is my first post I thought I’d make it a doozy. I’ve been playing WH40k for 27 years and dipped my toes into WHFB back with the brettonian/lizard men set. 

Ive decided that now is the right time to leap into AoS. Most people who know me know that I can’t just do anything warhammer simply. I just can’t build straight out of the box, there has to be a theme and a reason for the theme. 

Ive always been interested in the idea of orcs, particularly savage orcs. I wanted to capture that savage image (I always saw it as a Native American tribal image) but how to do it differently?

playing around with the kits and some GS gave me the breakthrough. How about a Native American/ Planet of the Apes look?  Maybe it’d work......

I’m building towards a 2k list eventually and so far have 10 orcs finished, 5 in progress, an Ironjawz megaboss on maw krusha in progress and a finished troggoth.  Now onto the pics. 

V0AxEdf.jpg

H0Xtc5v.jpg

OijMDwq.jpg

BPzvAs4.jpg

umoCyXb.jpg

vlahDbl.jpg

Well enough rambling. This GS fur isn’t going to sculpt itself!

18 hours ago, Orsino said:

This is great, fantastic job on sculpting the fur, I can imagine it's gonna be a lot of work to get to 2k.

However, I think he would get that time back when it comes to painting (i.e. drybrushing) the fur when compared to painting lots of skin.

• 2 weeks later...

Hey Guys, thanks for all the feedback and support.  There has been more progress with the Tribe.

I've built the next 5 Gorillorcs, GS'd them and they're ready for painting.  I also finished the GS on the Megaboss (just trying to think of some conversion ideas for the Maw-Krusha) and built and painted the first of the Ironjaw Brutes.

Gorillorcs

8cl5oFc.jpg

lKtNbbV.jpg

rB0X3a8.jpg

WO42UoA.jpg

RorvFQx.jpg

Megaboss

UN6yrQZ.jpg

Brute

Qqutb5X.jpg

X5zvySB.jpg

15eT6Qg.jpg