Help with layering

Axebringer

Hi there folks!

I want to ask a question that, is simple to many, but not to me 🤣 
How to do layering well?

I started painting minis in the early 2000s with Confrontation wargame. Then I had some chaos stuff for my Hordes of Chaos (6th ed of WFB), then some Necrons for 40k, and then minis for Hordes and Warmachine games.

I wasn't a good painter honestly but recently (at the beginning of this year) I improved a lot.
Some of my minis to give you an idea (Lord of Chaos, three Skeletons from Shadespire, a Glaivewraith Stalker and a Vampire Lord on a Nightmare steed):

Spoiler

bE4VHwC.jpg

iaDC7Di.jpg

ZXvE2VX.jpg

I am satisfied with them but I think I could learn something about layering and by doing so, improve my painting skills.

Can you guys help me somehow?

Do you know an article, a blog post or an online video tutorial that shows in a very detailed way how to do layers well?

GW videos are always a good way to get some basic tips and how to get the quality "'evy metal" finish you see all over the GW website. 

I would also recommend a Youtuber by the name of Miniac. He produces all sorts of videos about painting minis, what the best paint products are, and even a few of his own paint projects explained step by step. 

I watch Vince's Hobby Cheating series and I learn something new in every video (not to mention the insane level of depth he shows in EVERY video is a godsend) but I'd definitely not start there until you feel like you're starting to look at more advanced techniques or have jumped on getting an airbrush because without a good foundation you can be left drowning pretty fast due to just how much more he introduces to you.

47 minutes ago, CaptainSoup said:

I would mostly agree with Fulkes here. The Vince videos are good with plenty of technqiues to learn, but I would still argue for Miniac or GW because they have better production value and is gears more towards beginners or those getting back into the hobby.