Wrathmongers: Does its Bloodfury ability generate victory points for the enemy army?

tarquinmccoy

Question

Hi all:

I started playing Age of Sigmar earlier this year; immensely-complicated game, but also incredibly fun, and incredibly rewarding.  Very happy to be into the hobby.  Thank you for having me.

I’m looking for people’s input with respect to the application of the Wrathmongers’ “Bloodfury” ability.  By way of background, the Wrathmongers’ warscroll provides (summarizing) that each time a model from that unit is slain during the combat phase, it can cause an enemy model within 2” to immediately attack itself.  My friends and I had a disagreement during last night’s match regarding how the rule should be applied in pitched matches.

The setup was as follows: 3 players­­—Khorne (me); Stormcast; and Nighthaunt— using the Triumph and Treachery ruleset; in a scenario where, e.g., slaying 5 models belonging the enemy teams earned you 1 victory point.  Enter my unit of Wrathmongers.  When my friend moved to attack them with his Stormcast units in the combat phase, and successfully slew a model, he triggered the Bloodfury ability.  My friend rolled the necessary attacks for his models, and ended up dealing 5+ wounds to his own unit.