Jump to content

Command Ability range effect question


Takaloy
 Share

Recommended Posts

Hey guys sorry if it's been answered before. Mannfred and Neferata both have rules that work on radius based on their damage, and some abilities that have range but does not degrade on wounds (like Immunity to Battleshock at 24"). I've been playing a few games so far and there have been different interpretations of these rules. So what is the general consensus on these rules? Do the rules / affected unit applies at the beginning of the hero phase and those specific units' buffs and debuffs last till the next hero phase, or does it get affected when an action is taken? 

Example, if Neferata activates the ability outside 15", moves into combat, do the units she now engage have -1 to hit?

Similar question to Khorne, SCE and LoA's immunity to battleshock question. Does it affect those units until next phase even if the hero in question is out of range or dead?

Thanks!

Link to comment
Share on other sites

After writing, deleting and rewriting and deleting again:  I personally would play it as an ongoing aura effect, which is check during unit activation. So the effect might differ within shooting or melee phase for each unit, but not for the unit itself.

F.e. Enemy unit A and enemy unit B want to shoot at neffi, both are within range of her aura. Unit A shoots first and deals enough wounds to de-debuff unit B which now can shoot normally again.

same for mannfred. Friendly Unit A and B are in CC, A is activated first, checks for buff range and rerolls 1s to hit. Enemy activated and wounds mannfred, dropping B out of aura effect, which has to attack normally. It might even get worse, B doesn’t get any reroll saves of 1, but after enough fighting, even unit A might be out of aura range and not be affected anymore to reroll saves of 1.

so my reading is, after going back and forth: the aura lasts continuously till your own next hero phase, but if units are affected is checked in the moment of their activation. And yes, neffi stacks...

Link to comment
Share on other sites

3 hours ago, Ove said:

ant chek tho because im "working"

It‘s on the second page of the designers comments of legion of Nagash 

when is the range Mannfreds CA to be determined? When attacks are made...

so same should apply for neffi, since the wording is almost the same.

Edited by Honk
Link to comment
Share on other sites

16 minutes ago, Honk said:

It‘s on the second page of the designers comments of legion of Nagash 

when is the range Mannfreds CA to be determined? When attacks are made...

so same should apply for neffi, since the wording is almost the same.

 Agreed, there was a similar question in a V1 faq, that roughly said you use the range when a test is made. Unless the ability states you choose a unit, in which case you need range in the hero phase. 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

But for Neferata that is still pretty strong, if you charge her into the thick of it, you double tap her ability and almost hope for the opponent getting a double turn if pillow fighting.

if she has blood knights or morghast with her and maybe a necromancer on vortex in the backlines for that final -1 to hit the bleedletting will be real and your opponent fully frustrated

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Sure can, says in the rules... and why shouldn’t it stack then, if two auras are active? It’s not a spell, which would fall under the rule of one...

Heard things about a triple Arkhan‘d soul harvest with 21“ range... through a portal...

So she is not as bad as everybody makes her, same goes for LoB, now as I think about it...

really need to get back at the table next week 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...