I'm new to painting and also not good. Stressing over whether to dry brush, or layer up and edge highlight my Bloodthirster.

Ravinsild

So I've got a Bloodthirster, and first of all I have no assembled him. When I do I want him to be the Insensate Rage variety, so would I want to leave his arms and/or hands off to paint the body then do the axe separately and just put tacky putty over his wrist stumps or something?

I've been practicing my edge highlighting and painting in general on my Blood Bowl team. It's my first project ever and my first miniatures painted in my life. So far I've got 13 painted and my 14th miniature ever was my Thrower, with a sneaky Darkoath Chieftan being the 13th. I only know this because I labeled my Blood Bowl Orks in order of when I painted them, haha.

Anyway, I don't really like dry brushing, I feel like it doesn't quite get as exciting of a highlight as there could be, I prefer, really, a more "cell-shaded" comic book style of painting I've seen people do. I don't know how to do it myself, but every miniature I keep trying to get that really stark, bright colors, with sharp highlights looking crisp, clean and sharp. I don't like the sort of fuzzy effect that dry brushing can leave, and also sometimes it leaves little powdery flakes on parts I don't want that color on! Like red powdery flakes on the black shirts for my Blood Bowl Orks.

So I'm not a good painter, but my plan was to use basic battleline boys to practice as sacrifices to up my skill level in painting: Bloodreavers and Blood Warriors, similarly with how I'm using my Blood Bowl team as an overall learning experience and prequel to my Age of Sigmar/40k boys.

Anyway, what do you think? Since I'm new and kind of bad, you can really make edge highlights ugly, and I don't want to ruin my Bloodthirster, but if I put in a ton of time and be very careful it could look extremely amazing?