Pirate Army

Urza4V

Hi guys, 

I’m new to AoS 2.0 and I’m planning a pirate army (Kharadron Overlords & Idoneth Deepkin)

What do you think about losing specific faction abilities for a wider roster and more flexibility?

thanks!

I’d personally do one or the other. Idoneth without tides or forgotten nightmares will get picked off quite easily and no code on the Kharadons makes an already suboptimal faction worse. That said if you’re doing it for narrative and theme then rule of cool trumps all

I agree with @Melcavuk gameplay wise you miss so many options for losing the allegiance ability. And it can be worth it if it really support each other but with this combination you end up with a whole lot of 5+ 1 wound models. But rule of cool trumps all is a very good summary! 

Just another thought. What if you build up a army with two parts of 1K for starters. Get a mate around around on your side and you can have amazing 4 player 1K per side. battle. Best of all worlds ;) And from there you can build it out if you like. 

But for the modelling opportunities it;s just to cool an opportunity to miss. 

I got the KO battleforce with this pirate army plan in mind, or a duardin army eventually. Then I read the rules and got stuck in the strong allies  limitations.

I’m not sure about building a all KO army, ‘cause I’m not a tournament guy and I’d like to differentiate the models I buy

Thanks guys for your feedback

I have made many a tactically questionable army because the concept and modelling opportunities trumped the occasional rough game. At the end of the day if you’re intending to spend hours enjoying assembling, painting and fluffing out the army then gaming is just an added bonus. The only thing I’d be wary of is if you’re more of a gamer (as opposed to more of a creator) lean and losses might lead to you losing the joy of making and painting the models it’s best to know upfront that tactically they’d be a little hamstrung.