Jump to content
Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...

Recommended Posts

https://www.games-workshop.com/resources/PDF/AoS_Errata/Warhammer_aos_generals_handbook_en.pdf

 

Its pretty short, clears up a few things though, which have already been clarified on fbook, such as the argument for faction specific armies being able to choose between GA or faction specific abilities, and mixed faction allegiances

Edited by James McPherson

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No luck with Tzeentch casting more spells. Will have to wait for more Tzeentch spells, if they come. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Its good they cleared up the choosing Alliances and multi-alliance battalions.  That could get confusing.  I also like that they clarified and reinforced the rules of 1 for matched play.  Looks like Kroak might see more action in narrative and open play which prolly is best.  I know a lot of people hated him in tournaments.  However, as a Seraphon player, I do still consider it a nerf to my army.  This means I'm honor bound the throw to a tantrum online and burn my army! Be right back!  ;)

  • Like 4

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Free Balewind Vortexes for all your wizards. Hate to think how much they'll start going for on eBay if it remains uncomped.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

This one caught my attention.

Does this mean that a unit engaged in combat at the start of the Battle Round unengage from melee in the Hero Phase, then able to charge in the ensuing Charge Phase?

That could make the Destructive Bulk from the Maw Krusha pretty darn good...

FB_IMG_1469262162186.jpg

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

No because you can't charge after a retreat unless your scroll says otherwise

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Interesting, you will have retreated in the hero phase and then moved again in the movement phase. I'd be minded to think that you can charge.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Retreat rules are clear on this. No charge. 

The destruction rule says move as if movement phase. Retreat rules say if you started in 3 then you can't charge. 

 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Quote

Retreat rules are clear on this. No charge. 

That's right. It does say that a unit which retreated this turn cannot charge. I would have thought it would say "in this movement phase" in which case you could charge as the retreat would have been in the hero phase. I guess that makes this less powerful without chaining charge bonuses (lame Ogre monster charge formation I'm looking at you).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

As for Kroak well, the dude's got to be going on 20,000 years old at this point.  He's got a reason for slowing down.  And besides if they keep nerfing him, he'll begin to approach reasonable.  :P

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

To be fair a Sylvaneth army can take Kroak using the Winterleaf Wargrove, thus taking the Sylvaneth traits, artefacts and lore for Sylvaneth wizards, then he can summon a Bastiladon, Temple Guard, a Dread Saurian... whatever. I doubt we've seen the last of the toad.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, Kamose said:

As for Kroak well, the dude's got to be going on 20,000 years old at this point.  He's got a reason for slowing down.  And besides if they keep nerfing him, he'll begin to approach reasonable.  :P

See...now that's forging a narrative. :) 

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Have they clarified (my GH is still in the store until I pick it up tomorrow) whether your 3 battleline units have to deployed as 3 units or whether they can be deployed as one big unit?

 

Is it generally the case that you have to list your units as you will deploy them, i.e. you don't say 50 Blood Warriors and deploy them as two 10s and a 30 (as you would in SCGT)?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
21 minutes ago, Nico said:

Have they clarified (my GH is still in the store until I pick it up tomorrow) whether your 3 battleline units have to deployed as 3 units or whether they can be deployed as one big unit?

 

Is it generally the case that you have to list your units as you will deploy them, i.e. you don't say 50 Blood Warriors and deploy them as two 10s and a 30 (as you would in SCGT)?

I personally don't see a way around having separate units -- if you need three battleline units, they have to be three separate units (10, 10, 30 instead of 50) because otherwise you just have one battleline unit.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
4 hours ago, rokapoke said:

I personally don't see a way around having separate units -- if you need three battleline units, they have to be three separate units (10, 10, 30 instead of 50) because otherwise you just have one battleline unit.

Yeah, it seems like a real pity to me though. Having 3 Warscrolls' worth would make it feel less like a core tax, with a lot of battleline units being particularly suited for large unit sizes, if you want to do anything more with them than run to objectives. This is also one of the things they (arguably) fixed in the transition from 7th to 8th edition (or was it 6th-7th?) and have now gone back on.

It feels uncharacteristically inelegant for AoS. Why are 30 Dryads and 3x10 Dryads not equal?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

On the first page of Pitched Battles they say you can play points-only and disregard the force restrictions. 

If you find them inelegant I'd recommend championing the "points-only" method. 

  • Like 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...