Jump to content

AoS 2 - Sylvaneth Discussion


Recommended Posts

  • Replies 4.4k
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Posts

I can't wait for the box... So I decided to make my own kitbashed Arch-Revenant! VID_20190430_181542.mp4

You’re entitled to your opinion. But I’ve got plenty of experience using everything you claim isn’t a viable unit. I’ve been playing Sylvaneth since before our Battletome dropped through every iterati

I’ve played the Drycha/Ancient dreadwood combo for ages now, and it’s super viable at 2k. Since I’ve finished painting up Alarielle, I’m thinking of amending my list a bit and trying the Alarielle+Dur

Posted Images

18 minutes ago, Trevelyan said:

Which bit, precisely? Quote the section that is unclear, because I'm not seeing it. 

It's more of an interpretation.  My feeling is that with an ongoing "aura" ability like Alarielle's and TLA's, the ability could only be measured from those models (like the abilities say) because they own the ability and not the Kurnoths. 

I honestly hope that I'm 100% wrong though.

Link to post
Share on other sites
7 minutes ago, Pennydude said:

It's more of an interpretation.  My feeling is that with an ongoing "aura" ability like Alarielle's and TLA's, the ability could only be measured from those models (like the abilities say) because they own the ability and not the Kurnoths. 

I honestly hope that I'm 100% wrong though.

It doesn't matter who owns the ability.  The Kurnoths have nothing do with the ability.  The Kurnoths simply make it that you are within range of the ability  if you normally would be out of it.  That's all.  Just don't overthink it.  

Hero A uses a command ability.  Unit 1 is outside of the range of the command ability but wholly within 12" of a unit of Kurnoth Hunters.  The Kurnoth Hunters then make it so that Unit 1 is being counted as though they were within range of the command ability.   It's really as simple as that.   At no point do the Kurnoth Hunters channel the command ability or do the Kurnoth Hunters act as though they are the ones using the command ability.  

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
15 minutes ago, Pennydude said:

It's more of an interpretation.  My feeling is that with an ongoing "aura" ability like Alarielle's and TLA's, the ability could only be measured from those models (like the abilities say) because they own the ability and not the Kurnoths. 

I honestly hope that I'm 100% wrong though.

You are wrong. You are adding entirely new concepts like “ownership” then declaring it confusing because the rules don’t address something that you’ve made up.

It’s really as easy as adding the phrase “... or wholly within 12” of a unit of Kurnoth Hunters” to the range of any command ability.

Link to post
Share on other sites
51 minutes ago, Pennydude said:

Well sorry about that then.  My intent wasn’t to make up stuff. Just an honest question because when I brought up my interpretation of it to some of the local players, it wasn’t shot down.

You don’t need to apologise. I just don’t see how you came to your interpretation from the text of those abilities. I’d genuinely like to understand, because I right now I don’t. 

Link to post
Share on other sites
Just now, Trevelyan said:

You don’t need to apologise. I just don’t see how you came to your interpretation from the text of those abilities. I’d genuinely like to understand, because I right now I don’t. 

I think it's because I'm reading that it's a constant effect that only those around the users of the ability receives.  I understand that it's a command ability but including the Kurnoths in a constant affect  just seems like a stretch for me.  You have to remain wholly within 14" of Alarielle to gain re-roll 1s to wound when you make the wound roll.  You have to remain wholly within 12" of the chosen TLA to reroll 1s to save when you make the save roll.  If the units did not have to remain under that 12"/14" restriction, I think it would work just fine.  Like I said, I hope I'm wrong but I just see it a little differently right now.  I'm a relatively new Sylvaneth player (roughly 6 months in to my wargaming career) and I really enjoy everything they bring to the table.

Link to post
Share on other sites

I think I see. If it helps, units need to remain wholly within 12” of the Hunters to benefit - they can’t leave Hunter range and still refill any more than They could leave range of Alarielle herself. You could think of the Hunters as being like a signal booster, or relay station with a 12” broadcast range. 

Link to post
Share on other sites

If you can still measure from the Kurnoths after the activation of the ability, then yes I would agree and I 100% hope that's the correct answer.  

I'm not saying you are wrong nor me correct.  I'm gonna email GW to see if they could just clarify.  

I'm gonna try out LHW's list from the Facehammer GT soon and that doesn't use TLA or Alarielle :)  I do have a list I wanna try that uses the Lords of the Clan battalion alongside Gotrek.  Yea, you can't heal Gotrek with Regrowth but you sure can with the Emerald Lifeswarm.  Throw him in some woods near an objective and watch your opponent cry.

Link to post
Share on other sites
1 hour ago, The World Tree said:

I'm glad my question about Envoys wasn't as stupid as it seemed!

Does it mean that, for example, I am always in range of the Dreadwood command ability or the generic ones?

The basic question remains pretty strange. The fact that a handful of people are confused doesn’t make it less so - Plenty of people apparently believe the earth if flat, but that doesn’t make it a topic for serious conversation. (Not suggesting that Envoys Doubt is on a par with Flat Earthers, just highlighting that you can’t always judge the validity of a view by the number of people who share it).

But the Dreadwood ability (and others from Glades) is a valid question as it isn’t clear whether that counts as a Sylvaneth Hero using the ability. Dreadwood, for example, says that you use the command ability then measure range from a Hero.

That’s said, the text is pretty close to Ghyran’s Wrath (use the ability, measure range from a Hero with that ability) which I think we can agree must count as Alarielle using the ability, so I’m inclined to assume that the Glade abilities should be read as being used by a Hero. But I could be convinced otherwise. 

Edited by Trevelyan
Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, Trevelyan said:

The basic question remains pretty strange. The fact that a handful of people are confused doesn’t make it less so - Plenty of people apparently believe the earth if flat, but that doesn’t make it a topic for serious conversation. (Not suggesting that Envoys Doubt is on a par with Flat Earthers, just highlighting that you can’t always judge the validity of a view by the number of people who share it).

But the Dreadwood ability (and others from Glades) is a valid question as it isn’t clear whether that counts as a Sylvaneth Hero using the ability. Dreadwood, for example, says that you use the command ability then measure range from a Hero.

That’s said, the text is pretty close to Ghyran’s Wrath (use the ability, measure range from a Hero with that ability) which I think we can agree must count as Alarielle using the ability, so I’m inclined to assume that the Glade abilities should be read as being used by a Hero. But I could be convinced otherwise. 

I would agree. You pick a hero and measure from him(her) normally, now you can pick a unit within range from Hunters too.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Sooooo..... 

Due to an 'accident: on Ebay, I now have a 4th Start Collecting Sylvaneth box winging it's way to me.....😁 😬 😀 

This will mean (once painted) my army will have 4 Tree Lords,  4 Branchwych, 3 Branchwraiths and 5 Revenants.... I am considering selling my Soul to Nagash (via Ebay) for an Arch Revenant........  😬 So, do you think I should do 2 Vanilla Tree Lords, and 1 Durthu /Ancient.....?   *

Link to post
Share on other sites

Personally I have 80 Dryads (units of 30, 30, 10 and 10).  Also 1 Treelord, 2 TLA and 2 Durthus.  for the extra treelord, you can't really go wrong using it for the 2nd TLA for Lords of the Clan or just a second Durthu in general.  I wouldn't build a 2nd Treelord personally.  I'd rather just have a unit of 3 Sword Hunters.

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Subscriber

Treelords are very easy to magnetize. It's really only the right hand.

Some might be sticklers for the head I guess but if your opponent cant tell apart the giant staff/sword/vines im not sure anything will help them

Link to post
Share on other sites

Here is a secret: Non-sylvaneth players don't know the difference between the treelords lol.

Even in a strict WYSIWYG environment, you will only need to make sure you have the right equipment (ie  Claws, Sword, or Staff.) The head/stance/loincloth/etc are just personal preferences. 

 

 

 

Link to post
Share on other sites
11 hours ago, Landohammer said:

Here is a secret: Non-sylvaneth players don't know the difference between the treelords lol.

That varies by local player base. If I turned up to an event with a Spirit of Durthu holding a magnetised TLA staff I would expect most people playing me to ask “why is your Durthu holding a staff?”

You might get a little more leeway with the standard Treelord head vs the Ancient head (assuming people don’t miss the huge beard on the Ancient, but Durthu has a very distinctive face. 

If you are going to magnetise the right hand on a fourth model then I’d recommend building the rest of it as the type it is likely to be most often to minimise confusion. 

Link to post
Share on other sites

I've been interested in a Sylvaneth army for awhile in large part because I love the models specifically the Treelords, Branchwraiths and wyches, Hunters and dryads.  Not a fan of the tree- or sprite-revenants.  Just don't like the models much.  My question is can you build a reasonably good list (not looking for something super competitive) without the revenants?

Thanks!

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Subscriber

Yes. Absolutely. You can easily build a solid list around hunters order dryads or some of the monsters. All are strong.

If you can stomach it 1 unit of 5 revenants is amazing for objectives. People are using a lot of spites for the battalion but it isn't strictly necessary either.

Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




×
×
  • Create New...