Jump to content

AoS 2 - Ironjawz Discussion


Chris Tomlin
 Share

Recommended Posts

Just now, Tizianolol said:

Thx  @Scurvydog, about redoploy what happen? I use I on a unit within 9" , if another unit is not wothin 9 can I still move the 2nd unit? Thx again!:)

If only 1 of your units is within 9" you can only move that. However if later in the same enemy movement phase they move a unit within 9" of another one of your units, you can then issue redeploy again is normal for free.

You do not issue 3 of the same command at once. You simply are able to issue 3 of the same command in the same phase, where the 2nd and 3rd use are free, all other regular conditions apply. For all out attack for example that means you will use it on 1 unit that is chosen to attack for 1 CP. When a different of your units are chosen to attack later in the phase (and in range), you can at that point issue all out attack again to that unit, this time for 0 CP. Mawkrushas can issue 1 more for free than the boss on foot.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

17 minutes ago, Tizianolol said:

Thx its amazing , really and you are not forced to do that. So If u dont need for exemple use all out defence again i can use another command ability! I love that interaction!!:)

Yes, just not from that megaboss of course, but it does allow you to look how the phase goes along and keeps your opponent guessing if you will be using a free AoA or AoD instead (this costs a CP though as it is not the same command the megaboss issued i.e. AoA). With 2 mawkrushas you can issue AoA and AoD from each, and then simply pick and choose as you go along ;)

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

3 minutes ago, Tizianolol said:

@Scurvydogexacly, its very intetenting in the game, I wanna test on tabletop a grunta list . I think hack is by far better, but I still think 2x 3 grunta are better then 1x6. Coherency is a factor unfortunately:(

I'm absolutely agree. Coherency, charge MW to 1 inch and being able to use three times the same command with 1 CP (AoA, Mighty) is enough to use small units of 3.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

3 hours ago, Scurvydog said:

It now states you can issue the same command up to 3 times in the same phase. The 2nd and 3rd time will just not cost command points in the same phase. 

Wow this is better than expected

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, kurtces said:

I'm absolutely agree. Coherency, charge MW to 1 inch and being able to use three times the same command with 1 CP (AoA, Mighty) is enough to use small units of 3.

A larger unit is still nice for just weight of attacks to trigger smashing and bashing, as soon as 1 dies coherency issues also goes away. If playing bloodtoofs you can also pile in or move at the end of the combat phase to restore coherency on larger units, so there are some options here which is nice.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

3 hours ago, Tizianolol said:

@Scurvydogexacly, its very intetenting in the game, I wanna test on tabletop a grunta list . I think hack is by far better, but I still think 2x 3 grunta are better then 1x6. Coherency is a factor unfortunately:(

The 2" actually helps with coherency and getting in range.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 hours ago, Scurvydog said:

A larger unit is still nice for just weight of attacks to trigger smashing and bashing, as soon as 1 dies coherency issues also goes away. If playing bloodtoofs you can also pile in or move at the end of the combat phase to restore coherency on larger units, so there are some options here which is nice.

Good point! I did not bear in mind the toofs ability, thinking on ironsunz...

Thank you.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Its true every single post imo. True  bloodtooth is good for 6 gruntas, anyway many unit of them can cover all map! I think they are more versatile!

There is anothrr problem, bloodtooth able us to make a pile in when unit fought. So if we dont lose a single grunta , and we fight with a line of 6 grunta to benefit from more damage in charge, we cant pile in back to remain in coherency... the only way to mantein coherency is kill unit we fight, so we can move grunta behind. Idk of u understood, my english is bad!:)

Edited by Tizianolol
Link to comment
Share on other sites

2 hours ago, Tizianolol said:

Its true every single post imo. True  bloodtooth is good for 6 gruntas, anyway many unit of them can cover all map! I think they are more versatile!

There is anothrr problem, bloodtooth able us to make a pile in when unit fought. So if we dont lose a single grunta , and we fight with a line of 6 grunta to benefit from more damage in charge, we cant pile in back to remain in coherency... the only way to mantein coherency is kill unit we fight, so we can move grunta behind. Idk of u understood, my english is bad!:)

You can't break coherency on a pile-in move. 

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Better than Christmas day! The change of wording for the Megaboss ability was a more elegant solution than I anticipated. Only problem is I need to switch weapons on my 21 Gore Gruntas now (not that big of a deal, I love the way the hackas look).

I've never really had a problem getting all 6 gore gruntas within an inch while maintaining coherency, but 2" reach is a really nice plus. Getting the 2+ mortal wound on charge without losing combat phase efficacy, chefkiss* 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

11 minutes ago, Andrew G said:

You can't break coherency on a pile-in move. 

Exacly, as i said ypu break coerency with bloodtooth movement if no enemy within 3" , so when you charge with 6 gruntas you have to kill enemy unit . So you dont have enemy within 3" !:)

Link to comment
Share on other sites

3 minutes ago, Tizianolol said:

Exacly, as i said ypu break coerency with bloodtooth movement if no enemy within 3" , so when you charge with 6 gruntas you have to kill enemy unit . So you dont have enemy within 3" !:)

Ok. I must have missed that there was any type of movement that can break coherency. 
If true, yeah!

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, Tizianolol said:

Exacly, as i said ypu break coerency with bloodtooth movement if no enemy within 3" , so when you charge with 6 gruntas you have to kill enemy unit . So you dont have enemy within 3" !:)

You can't break coherency through any movement, every time you move a unit it has to end in coherency. Core rule 1.3.3.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

5 minutes ago, Tizianolol said:

I thought you had to be in coherency at the end of shock phase, so if I break it during the turn I can adjust that with bloodtooth movement  ..

You don't lose models to coherency until end of battleshock phase, but you are also not allowed to move units out of coherency intentionally at any time. Two separate rules. The only way a unit can go out of coherency is through losing models.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

12 minutes ago, Tizianolol said:

Thx a lot, so I dont see the reason to play 6 gruntas , where are benefit from that? I cant have 6 units in a line that give me 6 mw at 2+ in charge sadly

There's a discussion of this upthread quite a bit. You can arrange them like this:

/ | \ / | \

basically get two 25mm bases and cluster the tips of three gruntas around the edge of each of the bases, and then keep the base of the leftmost model in one cluster within 1" of the rightmost model in the other cluster and you have a line of 6 gruntas. Can be a bit awkward to move around the table depending on terrain but getting them all into combat shouldn't be too difficult most of the time unless you are hitting a very small target.

The main reason to do this is activation efficiency. If you're attacking a big monster or large enemy unit it's much better to kill it all at once rather than merely damage it and then allow it to attack back.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

1 hour ago, swarmofseals said:

The main reason to do this is activation efficiency. If you're attacking a big monster or large enemy unit it's much better to kill it all at once rather than merely damage it and then allow it to attack back.

It can not be stated enough, especially in the current meta, that overwhelming output is key for Ironjawz to trigger smashing and bashing. MSU is good for board control, but very inefficient for command point usage, violent fury and smashing and bashing triggering.

If you buff up 6 gruntas with a warchanter and they go fight and say lose 2 models. The remaining 4 that are still buffed will still be a major threat, while a 3 man unit getting cut down to 1 is no longer a problem.

I plan to run bloodtoofs with 2 krushas and 2x6 gruntas and a unit of brutes (perfect for sending into 1 wound char units on objectives). This creates maximum efficiency and makes it much more likely to snowball the opponent army with smashing and bashing.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Just wanting to check this set up for my Megaboss is legal. Its not letting me choose the Touched by the Waaagh! trait in the app now but I'm sure I've seen it elsewhere.

 

Orruk Megaboss (140)

  • General
  • Command Trait: Touched by the Waaagh!
  • Artefact: Arcane Tome
  • Lore of the Weird Spell – Da Great Big Green Hand of Gork
Link to comment
Share on other sites

18 minutes ago, Clanger said:

Just wanting to check this set up for my Megaboss is legal. Its not letting me choose the Touched by the Waaagh! trait in the app now but I'm sure I've seen it elsewhere.

 

Orruk Megaboss (140)

  • General
  • Command Trait: Touched by the Waaagh!
  • Artefact: Arcane Tome
  • Lore of the Weird Spell – Da Great Big Green Hand of Gork

Yes it is legal, Touched by the Waaagh! Command Trait condition and Da Great Big Green Hand of Gork condition is Ironjawz Wizard.

 

Orruk Megaboss is the best Arcane Tome wielder. But you should consider Master of Magic Universal Command Trait, by the math it's better than Touched by the Waaagh! to cast Green Hand.

  • Like 1
Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...