Total newb, looking to buy my first set, have some questions!

Denmaster

Question

Hi there, I'm a complete beginner and own no miniatures at the moment and have played nothing but the total war games (which I own both of) and have been interested for quite some time now of buying a starting kit to build an army. I've done a few hours worth of research but am finding it difficult to find all the information I need to start in one place so I have some questions! 

First off, I'm looking at first buying the stormcast vs khorne set as it gives me two armies at a fair price so I could play with a friend. I would like to own two armies eventually and build them consecutively hoping to eventually be khorne + tzeench and stormcast + kharadron overlords. 

Mostly curious if the khorne vs stormcast set would be the best starting place for that, or if I should buy the individual starting sets first (more interested in the vanguard than externals set) and if those combinations would even work together. 

Lastly just wondering what all exactly in addition to my starting army I will need to buy to get fully started in a game. 

Thanks alot for any and all help! 

9 answers to this question

Hi man! Welcome first of all!

couple of exciting changes coming in the next couple of weeks that might influence your descision. A new edition is coming and is most likely accompanied by a new starter set of stormcast vs nighthaunt.  Check this out! https://www.warhammer-community.com/2018/05/14/14th-may-faction-focus-nighthauntgw-homepage-post-3/

&

https://www.warhammer-community.com/2018/05/15/15th-may-faction-focus-stormcast-eternalsgw-homepage-post-3/

but if you like the Varanguard models you might consider the stormcast vs nurgle box.  (Which is close to impossible to find unless you know the name) https://www.games-workshop.com/en-NL/Age-Of-Sigmar-Blight-War-2017-eng