Root-King Duardin of Ghyran's Living-City

I recently found a huge stack of White Dwarfs from 98-2001 in the loft and it completely rekindled my enthusiasm for the hobby. I was around 11 back in those days and so never painted many of my models.

This is my first attempt at my first 10 warriors from my ever growing fully Duardin, Dispossessed, KO, Fyreslayer and Dwarf army. I'm looking to keep this colour scheme going through the army.  I'm using Local Highland slate for the bases, if anyone has any tips on creating a more Scottish Highland feel to bases let me know.

First-10-1.JPG

First-10-2.JPG

First-10-3.JPG

First-10-4.JPG

Edited by makeshifts
  • Like 13

The green , gold and silver compliment each other well. Also nice touch using Highland slate. I've never been to the Highlands but it's definitely somewhere I'd like to take my daughters when they're all a little older.

Looking forward to seeing more as your Duardin army grows!

• Like 1

24 minutes ago, AdamJ said:

The green , gold and silver compliment each other well. Also nice touch using Highland slate. I've never been to the Highlands but it's definitely somewhere I'd like to take my daughters when they're all a little older.

Looking forward to seeing more as your Duardin army grows!

Thanks, I'm looking forward to putting the colour scheme on the Fyreslayers that I've added some longbeard pauldrons to & used a bit more of the classic Duardin iconography on.  

You should absolutely take your family, the west coast of scotland, especially Lochaber area and Skye are stunning, right now at 28°c even more so.

18 minutes ago, Durant said:

I hate you, my first 10 models were so bad that I had to repaint them twice ;) good job

Every time I look at these I see things I want to change / re-do, I have to tell myself that's part of learning and to apply it to the next batch.

• Like 1

31 minutes ago, makeshifts said: