Painting Log: Alarielle on Warbeetle

CPEninja

I started painting my Alarielle on Warbeetle yesterday, and Mr. Mengel put up his new painting contest link today.  Hopefully the fact that I have an extra day's worth of progress won't affect my standing in the competition.

So far, I have the warbeetle about 99% complete ( I paint quickly).  Alarielle will probably take a day or so to finish, and then the basing will take another day or two - depending on how fast my scatter terrain ships!

I sadly don't have any in-progress pics of the warbeetle, but I'll try and make this an actual log for Alarielle herself, and the basing.

File Jul 11, 2 20 58 PM.jpeg

13592185_10206896105946605_8418674120502372907_n.jpg

I honestly can't tell you - I just paint.  My friends and local GW store owner give me the sourface when I finish entire armies in a week - I did a full boxset of Slaves to Darkness 3 days after I purchased the box.  I guess the real 'secret' is that I write out the plan of what I'm doing before I start.  I do a ton of research on others' styles and color choices and then map out what colors I want and where.  I have a ton of go-to techniques that I follow with well practiced abandon:  basecoat, wash, layer, drybrush, drybrush, drybrush.  Work from the 'lowest' layer outwards - aka, start with the lowest part of the model (skin, armor, feathers, etc.) and finish those first - I use the biggest brushes I have to get the basecoats on, along with the medium/large drybrush.  Any mistakes or bleedover on the other parts of the model will get covered when I move to the next section, so I don't fret.  I shrink my brushes as the details get smaller.  I also work in a 3-color palette:  base, layer, dry (followed by more drybrushing if I want to get fancy, like the beetle's purple parts).  Once I know the 'target' color for the area, it's just a matter of picking a darker and lighter version to properly get the illusion of depth going.