Nurgle Mortals - Returning player needs advice

Dear all,

always wanted to have a Nurgle army, really enjoy Nurgle fluff.

I don't like Nurgle demons and demons as a whole just from the looks perspective. But when I saw Putrid Blightkinds in the End Times I fell in love. Then when I saw them paindted by Third Eye Studio - I decided I want to get back into Warhammer. Havent painted anything for a very long time and in the days didnt have a lot of practice actually.

So my questions are:

I love new Nurgle Mortals looks as a whole and pusgoyle knights too, but standard dark-green color scheme is kinde boring, on the other side, I'm just a newbie painter who also wants to play at some point with beutiful army, so paint by numbers (or youtube videos in this case) could be something I want to, because i dont know how to pick colors on my own yet.

Plus, just a little point, I want open wounds of Blightkings not to look too disgusting. At some points I event wanted to go Khorne as Nurgle's armies nowadays are just too much in terms of blobs and open wounds, I just prefer full armor Chaos warriors with a slight mutations, like back in the days.. So maby you have a tip how can I make all those blobs and cuts lesss disgusting?

My perfect scenario would be something realistic looking and not too boring (dark green + rust gw theme), like on picture attached, I guess most of you saw them.  Maybe someone can breakdown how to paint in such a way with Citadel paints and no Airbursh?

Do I even want to start painting with Blightkinds, maby pick something else to pget more practice ?

bki.jpg

This gritty style is not hard to achieve if you try not to replicate it and just let the effects happen on your model. Steel armor with a bit of typhus corrosion and ryza rust and a pale brown green skin. This can be achieved with a basecoat and some thinned washes and a drybrush. The technical paints in this pictures are drawing your eye quite a bit. I saw go for it.