Is Competitive AoS Backing Itself into a Corner?

When I started playing AoS everyone in my group was playing fairly elite high damage output armies, minimum unit sizes were the norm and while playing to the objectives was the most important factor in winning, being able to kill enemy models was probably the dominant mechanism for achieving these objectives.

Tzeentch, Khorne, Sylvaneth, Stormcast, Skyre, Beastclaw and Bonesplitterz all did this pretty well and games were always fast, fun and lethal – with very few models left by turn 5.

GH 2017 has certainly changed the game in favour of bigger units and put even more emphasis on holding objectives.

The thing I think has really changed the game however is Fyreslayers. One of my main opponents has been playing them since release – and they were always pretty strong in my opinion – but the massive 150 points decrease in the cost of 30 vulkites means I now have to fight 90 of them – coupled with the Ur Gold runes which give them really strong army-wide buffs for free…

Other than being a massive pain in my behind Fyreslayers have pointed out to everyone how strong resilience builds are and while you can grind through these builds by optimising your damage output, it often leaves you without enough models to cap objectives and unlucky dice can mean you just bounce off and get chipped away before you make enough impact.

Its far safer and more reliable to just make your own army as resilient as possible, So my Fatesworn warband now has a ton of chaos warriors with runeshields and 6+, 6+ wards, I’m even running a cheesey balewind and treacherous bond! Our Nurgle player now has 90 plague bearers and Nurgle marked warriors and runs GA chaos with Cunning Deceiver (he’s like -3 to hit in the first round or something!!)