Jump to content
Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
freakshot3

Rule of one - Team Event

Question

I am looking for some clarification, if possible, on the rule of one as it pertains to team events. By team event I'm referring to the 2-Man, 1000pt each Team Tournaments similar to those at Adepticon and the like.

From what I can tell, there is no definitive published ruling, in the Coalition of Death or otherwise, on whether or not the rule of one extends to the team, or just inside of one players individual 1000pt army. For example, is it possible for both me and my partner to cast Mystic Shield, Arcane Bolt, etc.. 

It's entirely possible that this is a tournament by tournament ruling, and there is no official ruling on this.  I'm just trying to avoid any pitfalls in list building, and game planning for an upcoming doubles tournament. 

Thanks for the help!

Edited by freakshot3

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

2 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 1

Coalition of death rules say that "the armies belonging to the players on a team are treated as a single army during setup and during the battle, and treat other models from the team's armies as being friendly models." (GHB 2017, p. 14) Since all your models are part of the same army, that would imply only one of each spell can be cast per team, not per player; the rules explicitly call this out for unbinding at least. Anecdotally, this is how I've seen one tournament handle the rule. To be absolutely sure I would double check with whoever is running the event you're attending, they may interpret it differently. Also, if you assume you can't double up on spells you'll be in better shape than if you assume you can!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

At the simplest level, I'd go with how many generals per side. If you each have a general, then you're pretty much two armies. If you have to nominate a single general between the two of you, then you're a single army.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...