1k Death list - is it competitive?

nick331999

Hi so I am new to playing warhammer and it seems like something really cool that I want to get into. I want to start off playing a 1k army (2k is a bit too expensive for me rn) and was wondering if the list I was considering is competative.

Death Allegiance.

1 Abhorrant Ghoul King on Terrorgheist (400pts)

30 Crypt Ghouls (300pts)

1 Vampire Lord (140pts)

1 Necromancer (120pts)

For a total of 960 points. No battalion. Was just wondering if there are any important details I'm missing or if this would be a good investment to start playing and hopefully even do tournaments using general rulebook.

Thanks!

Ps: Also wondering if there are any good list building guides out there that somebody could give me a link for

Well, to start with its not a legal list. At 1000pts you need a minimum of 2 battle line units. Which you could achieve by splitting the Ghouls into 2 units. Imo it will struggle with another problem though of not being able to hold multiple objectives very easily since you are investing so many points in heroes while your infantry is fairly slow and limited.

If it was me and I was looking to make a flesh eater 1k list based on yours I'd drop the Vampire lord as he doesnt really fit in the theme anyway. Instead, I'd then run 2 units of 20 ghouls leaving 80pts for a summoning pool to bring in some bat swarms near the enemy line to try to mitigate the shooting meta that is dominant right now. (fyi if your list can't deal with skyfire spam then it is going to struggle at the competitive level).