Jump to content
Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Welcome Guest!

Join us now to get access to all our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, and so, so much more. It's also quick and totally free, so what are you waiting for?

Grimnaud

Members
  • Content count

    323
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    2

Grimnaud last won the day on June 20 2016

Grimnaud had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

231 Celestant-Prime

2 Followers

About Grimnaud

  • Rank
    Dracothian Guard

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Grimnaud

    Trying to run The Court of Nulamhia

    Yeah, but at that point you’re burning through all your CP’s on turn 1. Not to mention that with 6 drops you’re far from garanteed the first turn in the new edition. A summonable anvil isn’t a bad idea though. But at that point you might as well drop the Morghasts and a unit of wolves for 40 skeletons. Boring to paint, dull to move, but will give you a much greater flexibility to hold objectives and gain board control. I included the Morghasts because at that point you get three units that can with a degree of certainty could make a charge on turn one. Though 40 skeletons can as well, especially if you’re willing to spend a CP to reroll it. An additional factor to consider in addition to list building is how you want the army to play. The VLoZD is zippy-fast with courts and the cogs, but he can’t take on an army on his own. Though he can be very tanky with Dark Mist and Mystic Shield on him, he needs support. If you charge him across the board turn one, what is the rest of your army doing? How are you scoring VPs in the various missions? The Court is VERY hero-centric, so whatever you spend the remaining points on should aid you in that plan.
  2. Grimnaud

    Trying to run The Court of Nulamhia

    It's good to see another Legion of Blood fan, though I must say that you've set yourself a difficult task getting this army to work. Not only does the battalion have such a high cost, it lacks some of the heroes you'd want to use in a Death army, such as a necromancer. More than that however, the problem is that while the army is fast, the additional bonuses, such as the pinions spell, will only work on a single model, meaning that while they may be able to zoom across the board, they will often have to do so unsupported. I'm temted to recommend just going all out and fill up the battalion with two VLoZD's, direwolves battleline, cogs, and a command point, but I think that army, while fun to play, will really struggle with holding objectives. So here's my take on a Court of Nulahmia army; Allegiance: Legion of BloodLeadersNeferata Mortarch Of Blood (400)Vampire Lord On Zombie Dragon (440)- DeathlanceBloodseeker Palanquin (320)Vampire Lord (140)Battleline5 x Dire Wolves (60)5 x Dire Wolves (60)5 x Dire Wolves (60)Units1 x Corpse Cart (80)2 x Morghast Harbingers (220)- Spirit HalberdsBattalionsCourt of Nulahmia (110) Cogs 60 CP 50Total: 2000Allies: 0 / 400Wounds: 90
  3. Grimnaud

    Age of Sigmar: Second Edition

    It's on page three of the core rules. Unfortunately, because I was REALLY hoping for a change to the first turn order, the "How to play" videos (which are up by the way) seems to indicate that the player that finishes setting up first still gets to decide who goes first in the first turn. https://ageofsigmar.com/new-to-aos/play/ Really hoping that GW makes a definitive statement supporting a turn one roll-off.
  4. Grimnaud

    Age of Sigmar: Second Edition

    Pretty sure someone made them at home. The horned skull on top of the red one is from the old Arcane Ruins set, and the cross on the blue one is from the Garden of Morr.
  5. Grimnaud

    Age of Sigmar: Second Edition

    Charges going first would be the same as fixing a squeaky door by remodeling the entire house. With the double turn it would drastically change the way the game is played. But I guess we'll see in time. I'm with Vince Venturella on having faith in GW and the playtesters.
  6. Grimnaud

    Balewind Vortex ?

    It's the second. From the general rules FaQ; Q: If I add a modifier (e.g. +1) to a characteristic that is also being multiplied (e.g. x2), do I apply the modifier before or after the multiplier? A: In Warhammer Age of Sigmar, modifiers are applied after any multipliers. Note that this means that an ability that multiplies a unit’s Move characteristic does so before any modifiers for running are applied.
  7. Grimnaud

    Balewind Vortex ?

    The Balewind Vortex is about fiva and a half inch from top to bottom. Given that you also can't have any models within 3" of the base, you're definitly outside of 6". Yeah, you do get Deathly Invocation off before you summon it in, but since that's likely to be in the first turn anyways, that's seldom relevant. And by the FAQ you'll need to pay for it every time you summon it, so banishing and re-summoning is not going to happen. Yeah, a Vampire Lord is pretty sturdy on top of it. But I don't see a lot of scenarioes where I would want a Vampire Lord stuck on top of a Balewind. With a 36" reach on both Overwhelming Dread and Van Hels I don't really care that a Necromancer is stuck on top. He rarely needs to move after that. But the Vamp Lord gets 36" on Soulpike, and only 24 inches on all his other spells. So you're probably not going to be casting it first turn anyways as you'd be out of range. The question then becomes what the use of the Balewind Vortex is after the first turn? Remember that it needs a 7 to summon. I usually try to be in range of at least a Mortis Engine and Arcane terrain as well if I can when i first summon it in. Because if I fail to summon it then the caster can't try another spell. That's only of it is successfully cast.
  8. Grimnaud

    Balewind Vortex ?

    I've used one in my Legion of Blood army since the Legions of Nagash dropped. It is a double-edged sword for Death more than it is for other armies, but the ability to debuff my opponent if I get the first turn (which happens a lot since I don't include any batallions) is IMO worth it. But by summoning it you are a) making whoevers on top into a big flashing target for shooting (though with the recent scenery=terrain faq you do get a +1 to your save), b) are out of range for a lot of abilities (Deathly invocation and Undead Minions for the Necromancer are both out), and c) leave the mage on top immobile unless you banish the vortex and thereby pay a hundred points for a very short lived effect. The downside is less severe for a Vampire Lord than a Necromancer, but for my money it's the Necromancer I really want on top. The Lore of Deathmages is much more tempting, though a 24" Amaranthine Orb is also very tasty. If it was not for the admittedly cheeky 3-4" push forwards for my other units, I'm not sure whether it would be worth the points. I certainly would not pick one up now before seeing how the new edition changes it's effects.
  9. Grimnaud

    Deathly invocation? Have I been doing it wrong?

    Yes. All of the healing brings back «wounds». So unless you can roll a 3+, you’re not getting a black knight or direwolf back, and unless you nail a 5+ you don’t get a spirit host back. Also note that it’s equal to or less, so if you for example get two rolls for a unit of direwolves, say from a gravesite and deathly invocations, even if you roll a 5 and a 6 for a combined total of 6 wounds, you would only get two wolves back. The left-over wound from each roll is discarded before moving on to the rest.
  10. Grimnaud

    Cover question

    The four graveyards you get in a Legion of Sacrament army, or for that matter in any of the Legion allegiances are points on the board. You can use tokens to show where they are, but they have no other effect on the game. Regardless of the size of the token you only ever measure to and fram that tiny fixed point, and regardless of how tall or intricate your token or marker is, it will never count as cover. The Sigmarite Mausoleum is a great set, but I personally would have a problem with someone bringing it to a tournament to use as gravesite markers as they aren't meant to block movement or LoS. From the Death FaQ: Q: How large is a gravesite and a gravesite marker? A: A gravesite is a point you pick on the battlefield that you measure to – it does not have a size as such, but you can consider it to be 1mm across if you wish. Gravesite markers are simply to help you remember where the gravesites are located, and therefore can be of any size; they have no effect on the game other than to mark the location of the gravesites, they do not interfere with movement or visibility, and they can be moved aside to allow the movement and placement of units if need be (in which case you will need to remember the location of the gravesite by other means).
  11. Or even worse, set up the returned modells in CC anywhere you wanted on the table, and then just kept using the regen to teleport the unit anywhere you wanted. Preeeeetty sure someone ought to send GW a FAQ question about this so it gets fixed eventually. But right now summonable units are the new Vanguard wing.... Damned terrain, Legions Innumerable, Grave Guard, and Van hels
  12. Wow. You're right, but that is a potentially really nasty rules-lawyering move to grab objectives in Total Conquest or Battle for the Pass.
  13. Grimnaud

    Classic Zombie Dragon "Counts As"

    What he lacks in size he makes up for in effort Hehe. IMO the variation is more than worth it. But then I like the classic look. Just be a bit generous with line of sight and it’s fine.
  14. Grimnaud

    Classic Zombie Dragon "Counts As"

    Build up the base a couple of inches and you should be fine. I love seeing the old models on the board I’ve been considering searching through ebay for that one, but I really doubt I’ll need-need another zombie dragon.
  15. Grimnaud

    Classic Zombie Dragon "Counts As"

    I haven't had any issue using mine :-)
×