scrubyandwells

Members
  • Content count

    328
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    2

Posts posted by scrubyandwells


  1. A brief recap of my games playing sylvaneth at the Nashcon Age of Sigmar GT, a fantastic first-time event organized by David Griffin. Show Notes: 1) Battleshock Bash AoS GT (6/23-25): http://gatewayopen.com 2) Battleshock Bash Event Pack: http://goo.gl/IHAqcx 3) Nashcon AoS GT Event Pack: http://goo.gl/oKsQG3 4) Nashcon Results: http://goo.gl/6JDya5 5) Gamemat.eu (10% off with code: SW2017): http://gamemat.eu

    View the full article

    2 people like this

  2. Kenny Lull from the Combat Phase podcast stops by to chat about the new points for everyone's favorite naked duardin in Age of Sigmar. Show Notes: 1) Combat Phase Podcast: http://combatphase.com 2) Kenny on Twitter: http://twitter.com/kennylull 3) Fyreslayers Facebook Group: http://goo.gl/TpY82W 4) Nashcon AoS GT (June 2-4): http://nashcon.org 5) Gamemat.eu (10% off with code: SW2017): http://gamemat.eu

    View the full article


  3. 6 minutes ago, Zhorphorus said:

    Whilst we're on this topic, the gnarlroot can include any number of other sylvaneth units, does this mean if you include drycha either as an additional unit or order wizard she gains verdurous harmony spell? (Can still only cast one spell a turn ofc)

    Yeah, any SYLVANETH WIZARD or ORDER WIZARD in a Gnarlroot Wargrove battalion gain access to the Verdurous Harmony spell.  


  4. On 4/4/2017 at 7:34 AM, Nico said:

    Yep. I agree. The Artefacts clarify the position right in the centre of the page in very small text "Any Sylvaneth Hero" can be given a magical artefact.

    The only one I had lingering doubts over was the Command Trait (which simply says "general of a Sylvaneth army"). Was this clarified? Thoughts?

    A command trait is an allegiance ability, so the same rule applies as before: If a warscroll doesn't have the SYLVANETH keyword, it can't benefit from any Sylvaneth allegiance abilities. See key paragraph below (key part in bold) from GH FAQ. 

    In terms of the Forest Spirits battle trait, the same principle applies: Any warscrolls/models/units without the SYLVANETH keyword can't benefit from any Sylvaneth allegiance abilities, even if they're in a Sylvaneth allegiance battalion, so you wouldn't be able to deploy, say, a Gnarlroot Wargrove Hurricanum via Forest Spirits. In that example, as one initial drop, you could deploy all or some of the battalion's SYLVANETH keyword warscrolls in the hidden enclaves (via Forest Spirits), and then deploy the Hurricanum and any remaining SYLVANETH units as individual drops (and of course the SYLVANETH units could still be deployed, as individual drops, in the hidden enclaves). 

    When picking your army’s allegiance abilities, all units
    in a warscroll battalion are considered to have the
    allegiance listed above the title on the warscroll. For
    example, the Guardians of Alarielle warscroll battalion 
    includes both Sylvaneth and Stormcast Eternals units,
    and has ‘Sylvaneth’ listed as its allegiance above the
    battalion’s title. This means that all of the Stormcast
    Eternals units in the battalion are considered to have
    the Sylvaneth allegiance when it comes to choosing
    allegiance abilities. An army otherwise made up of
    Sylvaneth units which included this battalion could
    choose the Sylvaneth or Order allegiance abilities, but
    the Stormcast Eternals from this battalion wouldn’t
    benefit from the Sylvaneth allegiance abilities, as they
    don’t have the Sylvaneth keyword.’

    2 people like this

  5. 4 hours ago, rokapoke said:

    The ability clearly states SYLVANETH HERO, so it looks like a no to me.

    Yep, it's only for warscrolls/models that have both the SYLVANETH and HERO keywords, so Solemn Guardian wouldn't work for the Loremaster.


  6. 1 hour ago, HadrielCaine said:

    I'm having a look at the Artefact rules.

    and the WINTERLEAF WARGROVE rules

    Seems to me that I could give SYLVANETH battletome artefacts to, for example, a Glade Lord on Forest Dragon. He couldn't take a command trait presumably but the allegience remains SYLVANETH due to the Wargrove and the requirment for artefact usage is just the KEYWORD: HERO

    Am I (arguably) right? I'd LOVE a Glade Lord on Forest Dragon with either Oaken Armour or Seed of Rebirth.

    Hey mate, we received clarity on this Q previously: units like the Glade Lord on Forest Dragon do need the SYLVANETH keyword on their own warscroll in order to have access to SYLVANETH artefacts of power.

    In the example you gave, it's true you can take a Winterleaf Wargrove with 1 ORDER unit and still have a SYLVANETH allegiance army, but the 1 ORDER unit doesn't gain access to any artefacts of power, since they're not a SYLVANETH HERO and the army is SYLVANETH allegiance, which prevents them from accessing ORDER allegiance artefacts.

    I think GW did this as a tradeoff for gaining access to non-Sylvaneth units via Wargrove battalions, which seems reasonable.

    The exception is Gnarlroot Wargrove and Ironbark Wargrove:

    • In Gnarlroot Wargrove, each Gnarlroot WIZARD gains access to the Verdurous Harmony spell, so e.g. if you took a Loremaster as your 0-1 ORDER WIZARD in Gnarlroot, the Loremaster would gain access to Verdurous Harmony, but he wouldn't have access to Deepwood Lore spells, because he isn't a SYLVANETH HERO.
    • In Ironbark Wargrove, 1 Ironbark HERO can take the Ironbark Talisman artefact of power, so e.g. if you took a DUARDIN HERO as one of your 0-2 DUARDIN, you could give that DUARDIN HERO the Ironbark Talisman, whereas normally they wouldn't have access to any artefacts in a SYLVANETH allegiance army.

    I'm hoping they clarify this issue in the next General's Handbook, since it's a little convoluted and non-obvious at the moment.

    3 people like this

  7. 15 hours ago, Aezeal said:

    I thought I read something about this in a FAQ but can't find it.

    So: in the duardin wargrove (ironbark) do we HAVE to use a regular treelord or can be use an ancient like in Gnarlroot? (and I don't mean an additional TLA next to a regular one).

    Yeah, has to be regular Treelord. 

    2 people like this

  8. David Griffin and Cale Thompson stop by to chat about their Age of Sigmar prep for AdeptiCon and upcoming AoS Grand Tournament at Nashcon on June 3-4, 2017, in Nashville, TN. Hope you can make it! Show Notes: 1) Nashcon AoS GT: goo.gl/bfqUlX 2) Nashcon AoS GT Player Pack: goo.gl/HDe2G8 3) David on Twitter: twitter.com/nashofsigmar 4) Cale on Twitter: twitter.com/southerntrolls 5) Gamemat.eu: http://gamemat.eu Twitter: twitter.com/scrubyandwells Email: tyleremerson@gmail.com

    View the full article

    1 person likes this

  9. Scott Reed closes out our coverage of the Las Vegas Open Age of Sigmar Grand Tournament, along with sharing his thoughts on growing the AoS event scene in North America. Show Notes: 1) Scott on Twitter: twitter.com/thelnorn1 2) The Ninth Realm Podcast: frontlinegaming.org/tag/9th-realm 3) Las Vegas Open: lasvegasopen.net 4) SoCal Age of Sigmar: socalaos.com 5) SoCal AoS on Facebook: facebook.com/groups/socalageofsigmar 6) AoS ITC Calendar: goo.gl/TXriL0 7) Broken Egg Games: brokenegggames.com 8) Coalescence Event Organizer Registration: goo.gl/OO7lX8 Twitter: twitter.com/scrubyandwells Email: tyleremerson@gmail.com

    View the full article


  10. Q: Are Mortal Wounds considered to be "damage" e.g. for the purposes of substituting a Destiny Dice for a "Damage roll" or for adding up the damage inflicted by a unit of Bloodletters attacking a Stonehorn in melee before halving?

    A: Yes.

    Hi @Ben Johnson, sorry to pull you in, but the above question ("Can you use Destiny Dice for mortal wounds?")  is coming up all the time, and really needs an official answer, especially before AdeptiCon.

    1 person likes this

  11. 8 hours ago, DantePQ said:

    I'd rather have Teclis then Sisters, especially in Gnarlroot. His spell is amazing and his spellcasting is epic + he can unbid spells pretty well. Ability to almost immobilize one unit is huge for Sylvaneth. 

    Yeah he's such outstanding value at 200pts. And the model is still pretty sweet! 


  12. 8 minutes ago, DantePQ said:

    It still doesn't mean that I can't pick spells from Deepwood as it only cover Sylvaneth allegiance abilities and aretfacts and spell lore aren't Allegiance abilities not only they are not listed as such. Listed as Allgience abilities in Sylvaneth Battletome are :

    - Battle Traites 

    - Command Traits 

    these two are called exactly "Sylvaneth allegiance abilities' Artefacts and Deepwood Spell Lore are not. 

    Also there is wording of Deepwood Lore "each wizard in Sylvaneth army" - not "each Sylvaneth Wizard" and as I said above regarding quote you provided "Artefacts and Spell Lores" can't be treated as Allegiance Abilities. 

    Good lord. 

    Think and do whatever you want dude.

    For everyone else reading this: I've received first-hand clarification on this issue from the company. And as the person who started this thread, I've also spent a lot of time getting clarification on multiple sylvaneth rules issues from the company and sharing the results here, as others could attest to. It's all in the thread. 

    Play however you want, though, as long as the opponent and/or event organizer are cool with it. 

    2 people like this

  13. 19 minutes ago, DantePQ said:

    not really 

    Deepwood Spell Lore 

    "Each Wizard in a Sylvaneth army knows an additional spell chosen from the Deepwood spell lore" maybe there is a FAQ about it but Battletome never states that you need Sylvaneth keyword to get access to Sylvaneth allegiance. 

    And even so as I said earlier I don't really need Teclis to cast Deepwood spells as he shines without it anyway.

    This issue has come up numerous times, including in this thread. The answer to why Teclis / Loremaster / Battlemage / etc. don't get a Deepwood Lore spell is on the 1st and 2nd page of the General's Handbook, and it even calls out Sylvaneth as the example, in particular the bold text:

    Page 156 – Allegiance Abilities, Allegiance
    Add the following to the end of the second paragraph:

    ‘The allegiance abilities you choose will apply for the duration of the battle.

    When picking your army’s allegiance abilities, all units in a warscroll battalion are considered to have the allegiance listed above the title on the warscroll. For example, the Guardians of Alarielle warscroll battalion includes both Sylvaneth and Stormcast Eternals units, and has ‘Sylvaneth’ listed as its allegiance above the battalion’s title. This means that all of the Stormcast Eternals units in the battalion are considered to have the Sylvaneth allegiance when it comes to choosing allegiance abilities. An army otherwise made up of Sylvaneth units which included this battalion could choose the Sylvaneth or Order allegiance abilities, but the Stormcast Eternals from this battalion wouldn’t benefit from the Sylvaneth allegiance abilities, as they don’t have the Sylvaneth keyword.

    1 person likes this

  14. 4 hours ago, DantePQ said:

    I dount it's worth it, for 200 you can have Teclis who is much better option as he can choose Deepwood Spell as well and his spell is fantastic and work really, really well with Sylvaneth style of play. 

    Teclis - Dwellers Below

    Sorry to bear bad news but warscrolls lacking the Sylvaneth keyword don't get access to Sylvaneth allegiance abilities like the Deepwood Lore spells. While you can of course take Teclis via Gnarlroot, which does give him access to Verdurous Harmony and still allows you to maintain Sylvaneth allegiance for your army overall, it doesn't give Teclis access to a Deepwood Lore spell because he doesn't have the Sylvaneth keyword on his warscroll. 


  15. Austin Morgan joins to talk about his experience playing sylvaneth at the Las Vegas Open Age of Sigmar Grand Tournament. Show Notes: 1) Austin on Twitter: http://twitter.com/austin_theman 2) Las Vegas Open: http://lasvegasopen.net 3) Age of Sigmar EU: http://ageofsigmar.eu 4) AoS Tactics: http://aos-tactics.com and https://goo.gl/ug5Ns4 5) Vince Venturella on YouTube: a. Formats in AoS: https://goo.gl/Vgea2a b. Schemes in AoS: https://goo.gl/zYofHM c. Color Pie in AoS: https://goo.gl/hkyAyd 6) AoS ITC Calendar: https://goo.gl/TXriL0 7) Coalescence Global Narrative Event: https://goo.gl/2asd7e Twitter: http://twitter.com/scrubyandwells Email: tyleremerson@gmail.com

    View the full article


  16. I'm a fan of that last list, and think it's one of the stronger all-round (and non-sideboard-reliant) lists available right now for sylvaneth. I'd consider Moonstone of the Hidden Ways and Gnarled Warrior to turn the TLA into another threat piece. That artefact still seems a little undervalued.


  17. 18 hours ago, Clanan said:

    Side question not worth separate thread: are Sylvaneth fun to play against? I'm bouncing between going Rotbringers or Sylvaneth for non-tourney "competitive" play. I love the models but the idea of spamming wyldwoods seems like it could get old fast for opponents. 

    @Mirage8112 gave an outstanding answer, so just to add one thing: My personal preference is to place no more than 6 citadel woods on the table. That's just a personal choice, though. It's cool if someone wants to use more. I just prefer to cap it at 6 citadel woods, which usually fits the following bill: 

    • Pre-deployment: 3 woods 
    • Acorn of the Ages: 2 woods
    • Silent Communion (if it ever goes off): 1 wood

    Re: Acorn, I've been taking a Gnarlroot Branchwych with the Acorn and Throne of Vines, where the latter maximizes her odds of casting Verdurous Harmony (you only get +1 to cast on Verdurous with Ranu's Lamentiri). 

    1 person likes this

  18. 11 hours ago, doloj001 said:

    Question:

    How often should, does the "wyldwood" ability of sylvaneth wyldwood trigger? I know that the keywords are: run or charge move across, or finishing on, but in the case of finishing on should the same model that finishes on the woods during other turns need to roll if it is consumed by the woods? 

    The Wyldwood you-die-on-a-1 roll only triggers for a run move or a charge move. It doesn't trigger on a regular move, or piling in, or retreating, etc. 


  19. Nevermind on the below, found the answer: "If all the starting units and warscroll battalions in your army follow Tzeentch - including any units that you assign the Tzeentch keyword to during setup - then your army has the Tzeentch allegiance."

    Also, and sorry if this has already been answered: For units that don't have the Tzeentch keyword already on their warscroll, but which can receive the Tzeentch keyword when you set them up on the table (e.g., the Chaos Sorcerer Lord), does including those units mean you forfeit the Tzeentch Allegiance for battle traits etc., since they only receive the Tzeentch keyword when they're set up on the table, not when you paid for them in your army list? 

    1 person likes this