scrubyandwells

Members
  • Content count

    326
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    2

scrubyandwells last won the day on November 15 2016

scrubyandwells had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

260 Celestant-Prime

6 Followers

About scrubyandwells

  • Rank
    Dracothian Guard
  • Birthday 04/10/1980

Recent Profile Visitors

820 profile views
  1. Kenny Lull from the Combat Phase podcast stops by to chat about the new points for everyone's favorite naked duardin in Age of Sigmar. Show Notes: 1) Combat Phase Podcast: http://combatphase.com 2) Kenny on Twitter: http://twitter.com/kennylull 3) Fyreslayers Facebook Group: http://goo.gl/TpY82W 4) Nashcon AoS GT (June 2-4): http://nashcon.org 5) Gamemat.eu (10% off with code: SW2017): http://gamemat.eu View the full article
  2. Yeah, any SYLVANETH WIZARD or ORDER WIZARD in a Gnarlroot Wargrove battalion gain access to the Verdurous Harmony spell.
  3. A command trait is an allegiance ability, so the same rule applies as before: If a warscroll doesn't have the SYLVANETH keyword, it can't benefit from any Sylvaneth allegiance abilities. See key paragraph below (key part in bold) from GH FAQ. In terms of the Forest Spirits battle trait, the same principle applies: Any warscrolls/models/units without the SYLVANETH keyword can't benefit from any Sylvaneth allegiance abilities, even if they're in a Sylvaneth allegiance battalion, so you wouldn't be able to deploy, say, a Gnarlroot Wargrove Hurricanum via Forest Spirits. In that example, as one initial drop, you could deploy all or some of the battalion's SYLVANETH keyword warscrolls in the hidden enclaves (via Forest Spirits), and then deploy the Hurricanum and any remaining SYLVANETH units as individual drops (and of course the SYLVANETH units could still be deployed, as individual drops, in the hidden enclaves). When picking your army’s allegiance abilities, all units in a warscroll battalion are considered to have the allegiance listed above the title on the warscroll. For example, the Guardians of Alarielle warscroll battalion includes both Sylvaneth and Stormcast Eternals units, and has ‘Sylvaneth’ listed as its allegiance above the battalion’s title. This means that all of the Stormcast Eternals units in the battalion are considered to have the Sylvaneth allegiance when it comes to choosing allegiance abilities. An army otherwise made up of Sylvaneth units which included this battalion could choose the Sylvaneth or Order allegiance abilities, but the Stormcast Eternals from this battalion wouldn’t benefit from the Sylvaneth allegiance abilities, as they don’t have the Sylvaneth keyword.’
  4. Yep, it's only for warscrolls/models that have both the SYLVANETH and HERO keywords, so Solemn Guardian wouldn't work for the Loremaster.
  5. Hey mate, we received clarity on this Q previously: units like the Glade Lord on Forest Dragon do need the SYLVANETH keyword on their own warscroll in order to have access to SYLVANETH artefacts of power. In the example you gave, it's true you can take a Winterleaf Wargrove with 1 ORDER unit and still have a SYLVANETH allegiance army, but the 1 ORDER unit doesn't gain access to any artefacts of power, since they're not a SYLVANETH HERO and the army is SYLVANETH allegiance, which prevents them from accessing ORDER allegiance artefacts. I think GW did this as a tradeoff for gaining access to non-Sylvaneth units via Wargrove battalions, which seems reasonable. The exception is Gnarlroot Wargrove and Ironbark Wargrove: In Gnarlroot Wargrove, each Gnarlroot WIZARD gains access to the Verdurous Harmony spell, so e.g. if you took a Loremaster as your 0-1 ORDER WIZARD in Gnarlroot, the Loremaster would gain access to Verdurous Harmony, but he wouldn't have access to Deepwood Lore spells, because he isn't a SYLVANETH HERO. In Ironbark Wargrove, 1 Ironbark HERO can take the Ironbark Talisman artefact of power, so e.g. if you took a DUARDIN HERO as one of your 0-2 DUARDIN, you could give that DUARDIN HERO the Ironbark Talisman, whereas normally they wouldn't have access to any artefacts in a SYLVANETH allegiance army. I'm hoping they clarify this issue in the next General's Handbook, since it's a little convoluted and non-obvious at the moment.
  6. Yeah, has to be regular Treelord.
  7. David Griffin and Cale Thompson stop by to chat about their Age of Sigmar prep for AdeptiCon and upcoming AoS Grand Tournament at Nashcon on June 3-4, 2017, in Nashville, TN. Hope you can make it! Show Notes: 1) Nashcon AoS GT: goo.gl/bfqUlX 2) Nashcon AoS GT Player Pack: goo.gl/HDe2G8 3) David on Twitter: twitter.com/nashofsigmar 4) Cale on Twitter: twitter.com/southerntrolls 5) Gamemat.eu: http://gamemat.eu Twitter: twitter.com/scrubyandwells Email: tyleremerson@gmail.com View the full article
  8. Scott Reed closes out our coverage of the Las Vegas Open Age of Sigmar Grand Tournament, along with sharing his thoughts on growing the AoS event scene in North America. Show Notes: 1) Scott on Twitter: twitter.com/thelnorn1 2) The Ninth Realm Podcast: frontlinegaming.org/tag/9th-realm 3) Las Vegas Open: lasvegasopen.net 4) SoCal Age of Sigmar: socalaos.com 5) SoCal AoS on Facebook: facebook.com/groups/socalageofsigmar 6) AoS ITC Calendar: goo.gl/TXriL0 7) Broken Egg Games: brokenegggames.com 8) Coalescence Event Organizer Registration: goo.gl/OO7lX8 Twitter: twitter.com/scrubyandwells Email: tyleremerson@gmail.com View the full article
  9. Q: Are Mortal Wounds considered to be "damage" e.g. for the purposes of substituting a Destiny Dice for a "Damage roll" or for adding up the damage inflicted by a unit of Bloodletters attacking a Stonehorn in melee before halving? A: Yes. Hi @Ben Johnson, sorry to pull you in, but the above question ("Can you use Destiny Dice for mortal wounds?") is coming up all the time, and really needs an official answer, especially before AdeptiCon.
  10. Yeah he's such outstanding value at 200pts. And the model is still pretty sweet!
  11. Great post and theories! An updated line of Devoted of Sigmar as the Sacrosanct Chamber...that sounds amazing. Yes, please!
  12. Good lord. Think and do whatever you want dude. For everyone else reading this: I've received first-hand clarification on this issue from the company. And as the person who started this thread, I've also spent a lot of time getting clarification on multiple sylvaneth rules issues from the company and sharing the results here, as others could attest to. It's all in the thread. Play however you want, though, as long as the opponent and/or event organizer are cool with it.
  13. This issue has come up numerous times, including in this thread. The answer to why Teclis / Loremaster / Battlemage / etc. don't get a Deepwood Lore spell is on the 1st and 2nd page of the General's Handbook, and it even calls out Sylvaneth as the example, in particular the bold text: Page 156 – Allegiance Abilities, Allegiance Add the following to the end of the second paragraph: ‘The allegiance abilities you choose will apply for the duration of the battle. When picking your army’s allegiance abilities, all units in a warscroll battalion are considered to have the allegiance listed above the title on the warscroll. For example, the Guardians of Alarielle warscroll battalion includes both Sylvaneth and Stormcast Eternals units, and has ‘Sylvaneth’ listed as its allegiance above the battalion’s title. This means that all of the Stormcast Eternals units in the battalion are considered to have the Sylvaneth allegiance when it comes to choosing allegiance abilities. An army otherwise made up of Sylvaneth units which included this battalion could choose the Sylvaneth or Order allegiance abilities, but the Stormcast Eternals from this battalion wouldn’t benefit from the Sylvaneth allegiance abilities, as they don’t have the Sylvaneth keyword.’
  14. Sorry to bear bad news but warscrolls lacking the Sylvaneth keyword don't get access to Sylvaneth allegiance abilities like the Deepwood Lore spells. While you can of course take Teclis via Gnarlroot, which does give him access to Verdurous Harmony and still allows you to maintain Sylvaneth allegiance for your army overall, it doesn't give Teclis access to a Deepwood Lore spell because he doesn't have the Sylvaneth keyword on his warscroll.
  15. Austin Morgan joins to talk about his experience playing sylvaneth at the Las Vegas Open Age of Sigmar Grand Tournament. Show Notes: 1) Austin on Twitter: http://twitter.com/austin_theman 2) Las Vegas Open: http://lasvegasopen.net 3) Age of Sigmar EU: http://ageofsigmar.eu 4) AoS Tactics: http://aos-tactics.com and https://goo.gl/ug5Ns4 5) Vince Venturella on YouTube: a. Formats in AoS: https://goo.gl/Vgea2a b. Schemes in AoS: https://goo.gl/zYofHM c. Color Pie in AoS: https://goo.gl/hkyAyd 6) AoS ITC Calendar: https://goo.gl/TXriL0 7) Coalescence Global Narrative Event: https://goo.gl/2asd7e Twitter: http://twitter.com/scrubyandwells Email: tyleremerson@gmail.com View the full article