Jump to content
Welcome Guest!

Join us now to get access to all our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, and so, so much more. It's also quick and totally free, so what are you waiting for?

Squirrelmaster

Members
  • Content count

    590
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

303 Celestant-Prime

About Squirrelmaster

  • Rank
    Lord Castellant
  1. Abilities re-roll sequence

    The sequence is: Roll dice Apply re-rolls (never re-roll a re-roll) Apply Rules of One Apply modifiers Apply abilities that trigger on a certain result Divine Light is a re-roll ability, so it happens at step 2. The PBK bonus attacks happens at step 5. You must re-roll the six, if it becomes a miss then you don't get the extra attacks and the Rules of One do not apply. If it becomes another six then you don't re-roll it again (never re-roll a re-roll), so you do get the bonus attacks and you do hit. In situation 2, simply pick up all the 6s and all the failed hits, then re-roll them all together, once. If you'd rather re-roll the 6s first or the failed hits first that's ok, but it doesn't matter because once a dice has been re-rolled you don't re-roll it again, not even because of a different ability.
  2. Protector Storm-shield and partially covered units

    Yeah, the main rules say that you target a unit, not a model. But the Protector rules say "to hit a model". If you take the view that you can never hit a model, because you always target a unit, then the Protector rules become non-functional. So let's assume "to hit a model" means something that we can actually do.
  3. Protector Storm-shield and partially covered units

    I would say the question is whether you can meet the condition of "hit a model [from the target unit]" without meeting the condition of "cross a unit of Protectors". If at least one model is not hidden then the answer is yes, you can hit a model from the target unit, without crossing the Protectors — meaning it is not true that you must cross the Protectors in order to hit a model from the target unit. I can see how it could be read as "if there is a model from the target unit such that you must cross the Protectors to hit that model", but to me that's a less natural way of reading the sentence. Also — if you can only see one Judicator and the rest are behind a wall, there's no penalty. Does it make sense that being behind the Protectors would offer even more protection that being behind a line-of-sight blocking wall? What if there are Protectors between the wall and the Judicators, hidden from view by the wall — does it make sense that having a wall hiding most of your unit from sight would actually make it easier to hit them? Likewise, AoS requires that a unit be completely in cover in order to receive the benefit. None of which forms a watertight argument and I'm guessing at intent, but that's how I'd be inclined to rule it. (And yes, you have to resolve the rule for each firing model separately, but no casualties are removed until all shots are resolved).
  4. Nagash 2000 Point List

    My feeling is that there are potentially four viable ways to run Nagash: As much summoning as possible. Keep your battleline light, take only whatever support you really need and can't summon, have a case full of different options and summon whatever is best suited for the scenario and opponent you are up against. As many Tomb King healing/resurrection spells as possible. Deathlords allegiance with morghast battleline, min-maxed as a small, fast, elite alpha-strike army Hit-and-miss combos that will fall apart against some opponents but steamroll others (Neferata + Nagash being an example). That said, if you're going to stick with what you've got and try to build on it, I'd say the main thing you need is more high rend and/or mortal wounds. Big skeleton blocks can dish out attacks in quantity and hold objectives pretty well, but there's only so much Nagash can do to take out more heavily armoured foes.
  5. God Mode Exalted Keeper Slaanesh 2K Army

    Depends how the enemy is deployed. If they're small bases, base-to-base, and more-or-less rectangular than yeah, 10+ is doable. If your opponent is smart, though, they'll spread out with at least a couple of models in front — once they're 1" apart it's basically impossible to get more than about 2 or 3 within 1" at the end of your charge. Combined with some clever retreating or sacrificial units, you might force the enemy to bunch up, but for competitive play I think you should assume about 2 mortal wounds on the charge to be average, no matter what you're up against.
  6. Neferata's Twilight’s Allure

    Neferata is 400pts — Arkhan is 320.
  7. Command Traits and Artefacts

    Last paragraph pg 77 states that you can always use the "Grand Alliance" allegiance abilities, even if your army has a more specific allegiance. This includes Khorne players using the Chaos abilities if they want to. What you can't do is mix Battle Traits, Command Traits, and Artefacts from different allegiances — they all have to come from the same one. But you can use "battleline if" units from a specific allegiance (as battleline) and still take the grand alliance allegiance abilities.
  8. Blade of the blood queen army

    ok, I misread that
  9. Blade of the blood queen army

    It looks ok to me. I'm not exactly a top-tier tournament player mind you. And I do think Neferata is still viable, it's just a little hard to access her full potential right now. She'd probably end up putting Dark Mist on herself or the VLoZD most of the time, which isn't a bad option either (if you were running Neferata, I'd definitely take the shield option on the VLoZD. With Mannfred, I'd maybe consider the chalice instead). I will point out, though, that you don't need to decide in advance what units you'll be summoning — only how many reinforcement points you'll set aside. You'll get more out of summoning if you have a few different units to choose from, unfortunately that means buying more models. Having a fixed plan for summoning is ok too, it's just again not quite squeezing the full potential out of your army.
  10. Blade of the blood queen army

    Based on maths/theory-hammer, Mannfred's Command Ability works equally well on anything that uses the normal hit/wound process — it will increase their average damage output by 13/36 (slightly more than a third). Neferata's Dark Mist on the other hand works best with heavily armoured units that aren't already ethereal, and her command ability works best if you can stack it with other to-hit penalties. In theory this does mean she works better with Grave Guard than with Skeletons — it's just that GG aren't great to begin with. Sadly, one of the best synergies she has right now is with Ushabti and a Necrotect. Failing that, she does work quite well with Blood Knights — although again, they aren't that great to begin with.
  11. Blade of the blood queen army

    Named characters can't take artefacts or traits, but you can still put the summoning sword on the wight king.
  12. Unfortunately, the lord doesn't work that way. Both allure and his own begauilment ability only affect attacks directed against him. So potentially, enemies will be at -3 to hit the lord, but they'll only ever be at -1 to hit the knights. AFAIK, the only way to get -2 against the knights would be hellstriders + cunning deceiver, and that only applies on turn 1.
  13. God Mode Exalted Keeper Slaanesh 2K Army

    Bear in mind Breathtaker doesn't guarnatee you'll strike first, even if you do roll a 3+. It only means that the enemy unit must be the last one to fight out of all units your opponent has in combat. So if your opponent has one big threat that charges the Daemon while everything else hangs back, it may end up being useless - if they don't have any other eligible units, they still get to go first with their one big threat. Personally I prefer the Enrapturing Circlet, since it prevents enemies from retreating, giving you more chances to kill them in combat before they heal themselves, shoot you, and/or magic you to death. Obviously that's not so useful against melee threats, but between the -2 to hit and the 2+ re-rollable save, I'd say you have that reasonably well covered already.
  14. New Death player needing help!

    I'd start with on unit of 40 skeletons, a necromancer, and a wight king with banner. Maybe swap the wight for a vampire, but I think a wight would be more useful scaling up. For 1000pts I'd consider deathrattle allegiance, taking the necromancer as an ally, so that I could run black knights as my second battleline and summon in whatever else I wanted. Spirit hosts would be my prefered summon, but I'd probably want some other models for enemies with "to hit" penalties — morghast archai seem like a decent alternative, or vargheists. Looking toward to a 2000pt army, I'd probably want either a mortarch or a vampire lord on zombie dragon. Smaller generals don't work so well in larger games. If I went mortarch, I'd try and magnetise so I could swap them around, but I think Neferata would be my favourite. I'd probably fill my remaining battleline with small dire wolf units — maxing out skeletons could work but I'd get bored of running that many. As for the rest of the army, I think the mortis engine would be a good addition, beyond that it's really a matter of personal choice. I like spirit hosts and I can see morghasts working well. Personally I'd also add some ushabti, they work really well with Neferata — but they are out-of-production models on their way to obsolescence. Make of that what you will.
  15. Executioners warscroll

    No, it's still a roll of 5, it's just classed as a successful to-hit roll regardless of your required to-hit score. It doesn't say "if you roll a 6, then ignore all modifiers", it just says "if you roll a 6, before modifiers, then you will always hit, regardless of modifiers". The modifiers still apply when checking to see if any abilities are triggered.
×