What is the best unit size for Ironguts? And what do you think about making them your general?

Walrustaco

I love Ironguts. Their 4+ to hit, not so much. After reading in the destruction forum about the much loved Megabrute, I thought, what about some Megaguts? (or whatever they'd be called.)

Making them chuck out 3 attacks at a 3+/3+/-1/3 profile, that sounds mighty good to me. I had been considering replacing them with Maneaters who pretty much have a better combat output - and ranged attacks.

If I was to do this or not, what's the best size for a unit of ironguts?

Hi @Walrustaco,

Sorry you never got an answer here! C'mon guys, no post should go unanswered!

Unfortunately I have no experience with Ironguts yet, but am in the midst of a Ogor rebasing project. I actually had the same idea, try to emulate the success of my Megabrute unit with a large Irongut unit! Should work in theory right?

@ChippyRick has had success with them so can problem advise further. To balance the discussion, I know @Gaz Taylor is anti-Irongut, so he can probably give some useful counter points.

1 hour ago, Chris Tomlin said:

Should work in theory right?

I find myself having 12 Irongut models after rescuing them from eBay, and I find it hard to justify their 220 point cost. There's the inevitable comparison to something like scythe Kurnoth hunters: 4 vs 5 wounds, 4+ vs 3+ to hit, -1 vs -2 rend, 3 vs D3 damage. Kurnoth hunters get rerolls to save rolls at the start of any charge phase, Ironguts get a conditional ability that's once per game that gives rerolls of 1s on hit/wound/charge.

They just feel so barebones and hit or miss. More often it's a miss.  

2 hours ago, Chris Tomlin said:

@ChippyRick has had success with them so can problem advise further. To balance the discussion, I know @Gaz Taylor is anti-Irongut, so he can probably give some useful counter points.