Dispossessed 1k list, first try at an AoS army

Rune Keeper

This is my first try with Age of Sigmar, I just wanted to get input on this as an entry level army.

Leaders:
Warden King (120pts)
General, Strategic Genius, Relic Blade

Runelord (80pts)

Josef Bugman (100pts)

Units:
20 Warriors (200pts)
Great Weapons, Shields

10 Longbeards (140pts)
Great Weapons, Shields

30 Quarrellers (360pts)
Bucklers, Bugman's Rangers

Total 1000pts

I wasn't really sure what was best on a Warden King General, so the artifact and trait are my best unqualified guess. I also considered dropping Bugman for 10 more warriors, but having another hero for objectives seemed like a good idea and I was going to bring Quarrellers anyway. I love Quarrellers and wish they were Battleline. Anyway, since I have no idea when the new General's Handbook is coming or what changes it will bring to Dispossessed I tried to stick with basics.

Something to think about on your question on generalship. You could also make Bugman the general, drop him with the Quarrellers giving him the option to make them unbreakable. Or you could make a champion of the warriors the general and do the same thing on you big block of warriors. Then pair the longbeards with the Warden king to make him able to use his command ability. 

Two command abilities are better then one ;)

Also you can't drop the runelord with the Quarrellers and bugman. Which is a shame because his -1 rend on 30 Quarrellers is very effective! 

So for me it comes down to gameplan. If I'm planning on dropping the Quarrellers deep to force my opponent to deal with them, I think I would split the Quarrellers in two groups. Hang the 20 unit back with the runelord for rend (and maybe the even the warden kings ability) and then just block with first the bugman unit halfway up the board and then with the warriors. I get maximum shooting with the Quarrellers while moving up to objectives.