Children of the Everqueen

Davariel

Hello TGA, and welcome to my plog! 

I'm a longtime painter and modeler (and an occasional gamer too) whose chief interests are High Elves, Brets and Mordheim. I've mostly focused on my High Elves over the past year or so, starting a smaller Avelorn contingent, but I was getting a bit burned out by how long it took me to finish even a handful of their crazy detailed minis. Looking for something I could paint up more quickly to take a break, I soon fell in love with the gorgeous Sylvaneth models. The fact that they'd tie in nicely with the Avelorn HE I'd been painting (seeing as they're both Alarielle's followers) was just icing on the cake!

So I took the plunge and ordered a start collecting box... 

My first unit of dryads. Sixteen felt like an awkward number, so I split them into 10 and 5 with 1 left over to convert a branchwraith. 

A0fCem6.png

Also painted up the branchwych:

6FOkeaK.png

Thanks for reading!

Thanks for the kind words everyone!

@Ademo - The wood recipe is pretty much taken straight from the back of the dryad box! The dryads were painted using a Gorthor brown base, Agrax wash, Baneblade brown drybrush and lastly a light Ushabti bone drybrush to finish. On the Branchwych I started from a Rhinox hide base then drybushed with a 50/50 mix of Rhinox and Gorthor, then just drybushed Gorthor before doing the other steps as on the dryads. Gives a little more depth to characters and other special models (watch this space) but not enough to be worth doing on all the rank and file. 

@elfhead - Ask and ye shall receive! (your elves are amazing, by the way)

Sisters of Avelorn: I originally bought the Phoenix Guard kit just for the bits (I prefer the older metals... of which I have all of 5 xD), but I had the Sister parts lying around after making a Mordheim Shadow Warrior band. So I figured I'd kitbash the two together. I was so happy with how they turned out I started an entire sub-army. 

xao2TkP.png