• 0
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0
Sneak

the 1/2 inch / charging

Question

If unit A is 5.5" away from unit B. Unit B rolls a 5 for their charge distance. Does unit B get the charge or fail? I was under the impression the 1/2 inch thing was only for piling in and not charging... 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

20 answers to this question

  • 2

 

 The 1/2 applies for the charge. So in effect you get an extra 0.5" on any charge to try and make it.

 

 Liam

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 1

Right but you don't have to finish your charge in base contact, so you can get more models in Base contact at least against big models. If you end your charge in Base contact wit let's say 3 Models you can't Move them anymore. So you kinda block your back line models from piling in propperly.  So you have a Range from 0.01 inch to 0,5 inches to fullfill your charge and being able to pile in propperly. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

The 0.5" is irrelevant for piling in, and only affects your charge. Your first model placed on the charge must be within 0.5" of the unit it charges...

So if you are 5.500001" away and you roll a 5 on the charge, you're out of luck.

If you are 5.499999" away and you roll a 5 on the charge you successfully get in there.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

The 0.5" affects pile-in to the extent that the 3" pile-in move must get the model closer to an enemy model than it was before. Thus, if a unit charges and is careful to stay 0.5" out, the models in front can then wrap around, ending in base-to-base (and therefore closer), to allow the models behind them to pile-in to attacking range.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Why can't they do that from within 0.5"?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
58 minutes ago, Ratamaplata said:

Why can't they do that from within 0.5"?

They can, so long as they are not already base-to-base (because a model cannot get closer than base-to-base,  a model in such a position would have to stay where it is during pile-in).  

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

What I thought... so your post about staying outside 0.5" to pile in and wrap around is confusing. Why do they need to stay out? I understand you might want to for flexibility in certain situations, but there is no reason you have to in order to wrap.

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

You dont fail charges as a set mechanic you roll the dice and if you can get within 0.5 of an inch of anything (Because you dontneed to declare the charges) your in.

 

As long as your charge length gets you within 0.5 on the ruler your golden.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 hour ago, Ratamaplata said:

What I thought... so your post about staying outside 0.5" to pile in and wrap around is confusing. Why do they need to stay out? I understand you might want to for flexibility in certain situations, but there is no reason you have to in order to wrap.

I think watching the Games Workshop video on piling in will explain this better as they do a visual example. Check out this thread for the video and the comments that helped me understand in better. 

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

How will that help understand this example? You can still wrap around from within 0.5"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

But you can't if you are in contact. I think that is what he meant. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Yeah that's pretty obvious is it not? But 'within 0.5"' is not equivalent to 'base contact'

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

I think he meant be careful to stay just within 0.5" . You have to end your charge within 0.5", but the closer you get to the nearest base, the less room you have for maneuvering., so aim to land exactly 0.5" away.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Or roll way more so you can position your models way better. 😁

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Just seems like people are over thinking it. There is no conflict between [charging/0.5"] and [piling in/wrapping around].

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

 

17 hours ago, Ratamaplata said:

Just seems like people are over thinking it. There is no conflict between [charging/0.5"] and [piling in/wrapping around].

most folks seem to have it pretty good scrolling up a few post. 

1 person likes this

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

thanks guys. Im just conditioned from years of playing WHFB  & 40K

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 hour ago, Sneak said:

thanks guys. Im just conditioned from years of playing WHFB  & 40K

Your good many rules confusions come from these sorts of assumptions. They are completely different games.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

I'm pretty sure that if you are 5.5" away and you roll a 5 you fail the charge. You don't get an extra 0.5in of movement.

The 0.5" is just how close the first model has to move to the unit. The rest of the unit can move where they want up to the charge distance they rolled.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
I'm pretty sure that if you are 5.5" away and you roll a 5 you fail the charge. You don't get an extra 0.5in of movement.
The 0.5" is just how close the first model has to move to the unit. The rest of the unit can move where they want up to the charge distance they rolled.


You need to get within half an inch for the charge to be successful not in contact ( base to base or model to model)


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!


Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.


Sign In Now
Sign in to follow this  
Followers 0