Mixed Duardin 1 & 2K

Matjb2512

Hi guys,

Starting a fresh for 2017 having come into the hobby as a total newbie in 2016. With high hopes for Steamhead release later in the year these are my provisional list plans, any suggestions and discussion for list changes and general tactica are greatly appreciated (the only caveat being that I've no expectations of winning any seriously competitive tournies with this list). 

1000 points

Heroes -

Warden King - General

Runelord

Cogsmith

Auric Runesmiter 

Infantry - 

10x Warriors w/ 1H & Shield

10x Warriors w/ 2H axes

10x Thunderers

5x Hearthguard Bezerkers 

Warmachines -

Organ gun

Clocks in at 940 points, I've been toying with the idea of adding a Gryph-hound to either guard against alpha strike or run up the board to either score early points or act as a roadblock.

I realised to counteract the inherently slow nature of a dwarf list I'd need an alpha striking force of my own, I toyed with the idea of hunting down some Miners on eBay but I'd like to steer clear of compendium in general as I've seen tournaments that do not allow any compendium units, and I don't feel like the Miners are capable of achieving too much even though they are a cheap option for points. 

The Runesmiter and HB seem like the best option for a small Fyreslayers addition, although I'm unsure on what weapons are best to take.  I've thought about Auric Hearthguard instead but feel like after the initial benefit of being able to pop up and guarantee attacks in that turn with the ranged weapons they're a little lacklustre otherwise. 

For 2k

Heroes -

Warden King - General

Runelord

Cogsmith

Auric Runesmiter 

Infantry - 

10x Warriors w/ 1H & Shield

10x Warriors w/ 2H axes

10x Longbeards w/ 1H & Shield

10x Thunderers

30x Quarrelers 

10x Hammerers

5x Hearthguard Bezerkers 

Warmachines -

Organ gun

Cannon

Gyrocopter

Gyrocopter