New AoS Player Wondering is Archaon a Thing?

Bazakahuna

So I'm new to AoS, however started playing Warhammer way back in Second Edition. I've flitted in and of the hobby my entire life and while I was predominantly a WHFB player, I liked 40k too. Anyway, with 8th Edition coming out I decided to return to 40k. I drew the line at not playing  AoS, not because I was bitter about WHFB, simply because I know my desire to collect needs firm lines drawn to prevent it getting out of hand... suffice to say watching some AoS and seeing how wonderful the community was decided those lines were silly.

I've been trying to decide what to collect and I think the various Chaos ranges are all amazing; their models are looking sublime. I couldn't decide between a God, and then looking at Archaon I realized I didn't need to as that model is just phenomenal and I found the connection I was looking for. I really want to base an army on the dude!

Finally the question: Is he viable? I understand his statline and rules are absurd, however that by itself isn't enough to necessarily make him playable, points are of course a factor as well as the army around him. So, not knowing much about AoS and 2.0, is it worth me dedicated painting time and dollar to the chap or will I just be disappointed and regret my life decisions.

Note: I don't expect to steam roller everyone and am not looking for imbalanced games in my favour, I just don't want to have to grapple with a ****** army. I like the challenge of battling my opponent, not battling my own army's inadequacies.

Archaon's gone down to 660 points in the new addition, and the update to his command ability allowing free usage of other hero's command abilities will be great in this addition. He's a solid choice in a 2k/1.5k game; just don't send him in to 40 freeguild guard of he'll be stuck there due to poor rend for such a powerful model.

11 minutes ago, Knight Scáthach of Fimm said: