Brand new to Warhammer - Archaon Questions

justjon1007

Hey guys, so I'm brand new to the hobby, my core rule book and supplements come in Tuesday(Core Rule Book, Everchosen, Grand Alliance Chaos, and Generals Handbook)!  I've been doing as much research as I can find online but what really drew me to the game was Archaon.  So what I've been trying to do is build an army with my very limited knowledge based around Archaon. 

I've been using the Warscroll Builder online using the base 2000 points which I assume is standard?  From what I've found the best way to go about using and protecting Archaon is to actually do a Disciples of Tzeentch army with the fate dice, Karios for a guaranteed kill on a Named Hero, Shield of Fate to be able to reroll up to 3's, Infusion Arcanum to give +1 to Hit and +1 to Wound which also puts him at 5-6's to kill with Slayer of Kings.  and of course Mystic Shield to give him 2 up Saves.  To get all that off I need to have three casters total, Archaon himself, Karios will be another usually for Mystic Shield and then I was thinking of using the Curseling since he can unbind a spell and instantly cast it. 

One of my questions since I don't have my books yet save Disciples of Tzeentch is, can anyone use Command abilities or just the general?  The reason I ask this is because I was thinking of taking two Fatemasters in conjunction with Archaon to give two other re-rolls albeit random (or 1's/2's from fate dice) and I wasn't sure if I would need to make Archaon the general or if I could use the Curseling and still use Archaon's command ability to be able to use the Fatemasters.  To shore up the army and for an exact 2k points I was going to use 3 units of Tzangors as the battlelines as they seem really nice at the 180 point price tag.  Any insight until I can get my hands on the books would be appreciated!

4 hours ago, justjon1007 said: