Winning with sepulchral guard?

Velvetelvis

Hopefully this isn't an all too common concern. But I'm new to the game and I'm finding the guard to be basically ineffective. 

Now, to be fair, I don't think it's the guards fault. I guarantee I'm doing it wrong. 

But ,I'm wondering what " doing it right " even looks like.

Is the faction just back burner material compared to what's out and about now or can it work?

So...what I mean is, I'm not looking for anything hyper specific like  an exact build. But more of a " should I continue to pursue it or move on and play a different warband."?

I ran them at the Adepticon Grand Clash and came in 9th place.

Imo to run the guard effectively you'll have to learn how to play your deck against multiple different opponent types.

But when I have them working as I want, they're super fun, can be quite competitive, and good in most match ups.

I run mine with all-in hold objectives for my objective deck. This strategy can net you a lot of glory, but is easily disrupted by drive back and push-ploys.
The thing is, your elite fighters are actually pretty scary. Champion has cleave and Harvester can hit multiple targets.
Just add enough upgrades and ploys to make them effective, and stuff the rest of your power deck with stuff that helps you get and hold objectives.

A generic tip - never do anything if it doesn't help you achieve glory. Don't resurrect a fighter unless he still has a purpose and can be set up to hold objectives or kill something. Don't attack something unless you can kill it - or at least follow up and kill it with something else. Pot shots are usually a waste of activations imo. Don't move a dude "just because". Pick a card instead.

4 hours ago, Goblin-King said: