Mixed Grots

Killacarrot

Hey everyone,

Was thinking about a mixed grot list that wouldn't be super competitive but wouldn't get steamrolled by everything either.  Basically trying to make something fun to play with. 

I'm pretty new to AoS and came up with the below list. It's probably awful but let me know what you think :) 

Allegiance: Destruction

Leaders
Fungoid Cave-Shaman (80)
Moonclan Grot Shaman (80)
Arachnarok Spider With Grot Shaman (280)
Grot Big Boss On Gigantic Spider (100)
- General
- Trait: Ravager
- Artefact: Battered Talisman

Battleline
20 x Cave Squigs (240)
- Moonclan Battleline
60 x Moonclan Grots (360)
- Pokin Spears & Moon Shields
20 x Moonclan Grots (130)
- Bows & Slittas

Units
3 x Grot Fanatics (100)
3 x Grot Fanatics (100)
3 x Grot Fanatics (100)

Behemoths
Colossal Squig (300)

Total: 2000 / 2000
Allies: 0 / 400
Wounds: 193

Was thinking about dropping the cave squigs for 2 x spear chukkas as I'm not sure how effective they'd be without herders. Also thought about dropping 2 fanatics for 2 x rock lobbas for ranged support.

Thank you

I'd say... don't drop the Cave Squigs. They're really fun and can devastate with a little bit of lucky (though a little bit of bad luck can make them useless as well - but still, they're fun). If you want artillery, my advice would be to drop one of the 20x grots. That gives you the option of keeping the extra 3x fanatics and splitting them up, or ditching them too. So, that would clear up 230 points. I definitely don't recommend running those squigs - especially that many - without herder support. 

All in all, if you want artillery, I recommend you keep the squigs, drop one unit of the grots and one unit of the fanatics, as well as a single fanatic from one of the remaining units. Then, add one to two units of herders, and either two bolt throwers or two rock lobbers, depending on where you land with the herders. I haven't crunched the numbers but that should all fit.

Thanks for the reply.