The Sublime Temple of Morathi: Chronicle of a Terrain Build

Richelieu

The idea for this project arose shortly after the Daughters of Khaine teaser video was published.  There had already been some discussion around the Greek influences evident in the Malign Portents Shadow Queen video and the new teaser reinforced those thoughts.  I tried to think of different ways I would paint the new models, but my mind was suddenly consumed by the image of a Greek temple.

My initial thought was to do a faithful, 28mm scale representation of a historical Greek temple.  I quickly did the math, however and came to the conclusion that such a building would consume nearly 1/4 of a 6'X4' battlefield, so that was clearly out of the question as I wanted a functional piece of terrain.  I got to doodling (I am by no means an artist, so please be gentle) and sketched this basic design:

IMG_20180201_181032.jpg.d267e43374c40de141c83bf06c084ec9.jpg

After thinking through the basic dimensions, the next step was to find the columns.  After doing some research I headed to the local crafts store and bought these:

IMG_20180201_182001.jpg.7aa38fdb950f2cd0ed1594e88bbed284.jpg

They are designed to support tiers on a wedding cake, but they are durable plastic, fairly inexpensive and perfect scale.

IMG_20180201_182603.jpg.47bf44a29e1d353507039108ee4b9d37.jpg

That's all for now!  This weekend I'll be hitting the hardware store for some high density foam insulation for parts of the structure, and a piece of MDF for the base.  Then on to the art supply store for some foam board for the roof. 

Morathi is an unforgiving Queen and she'll accept no excuses if I have not completed her temple by the time she returns to the mortal realms.

Still haven't finalized the design, so I haven't gotten to the hardware store for the rest of the materials, but I did want to make some progress, for myself as well as the people following the build.