Jump to content
Search In
  • More options...
Find results that contain...
Find results in...
Welcome Guest!

Join us now to get access to all our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, and so, so much more. It's also quick and totally free, so what are you waiting for?

L.Bromley

Curse of years

Recommended Posts

 

Hey guys

i have a quick question about Arkhan’s curse of years spell, so with my mates we have always played it that if curse of years goes off and I’m lucky enough that I roll 6,5,4,3,2 then what ever I have targeted is slain, first up is this right in a matched play environment? Or should I keep rolling until I roll a 1, As I plan to use Arkhan for the first time at a tournament this month.

second issue is how does this spell work if what I target has a mortal wound save? Do we both keep rolling until eith I roll the one or does it stop at the point where he makes the last mortal wound save.

 

cheers guys

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

6,5,4,3,2 then unit dead. You can roll it if you want but the moment you hit 1 you can't fail it as it's not a part of the Rule of One.

They'll still have their MW Save if they get one but you keep rolling; as you inflict a MW on the required dice roll whether or not it's saved or not. :)

I've never managed to get it going off before, though I've seen it happen numerous times and it's awesome when it does happen!

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
26 minutes ago, TalesOfSigmar said:

6,5,4,3,2 then unit dead. You can roll it if you want but the moment you hit 1 you can't fail it as it's not a part of the Rule of One.

They'll still have their MW Save if they get one but you keep rolling; as you inflict a MW on the required dice roll whether or not it's saved or not. :)

I've never managed to get it going off before, though I've seen it happen numerous times and it's awesome when it does happen!

Some tournaments do rule it the other way, make sure to check with your TO.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
6 hours ago, TalesOfSigmar said:

6,5,4,3,2 then unit dead. You can roll it if you want but the moment you hit 1 you can't fail it as it's not a part of the Rule of One.

They'll still have their MW Save if they get one but you keep rolling; as you inflict a MW on the required dice roll whether or not it's saved or not. :)

I've never managed to get it going off before, though I've seen it happen numerous times and it's awesome when it does happen!

I've been on the recieving end of it, 40 Freeguild Swordsmen... Deleted. Awesome and sad at the same time 

Unit was deleted by @klunc in the very first round of the very first game at the AoS Australian Masters. 

I thought I was being clever by having a Luminark proving them a 6+ ward save. I learnt the hard way!

Edited by MrCharisma
  • Haha 2

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
3 hours ago, MrCharisma said:

I've been on the recieving end of it, 40 Freeguild Swordsmen... Deleted. Awesome and sad at the same time 

Unit was deleted by @klunc in the very first round of the very first game at the AoS Australian Masters. 

I thought I was being clever by having a Luminark proving them a 6+ ward save. I learnt the hard way!

Curse of years was my MVP for Masters, that's for sure!

Tally was 40 Swordsmen, Gordrakk and a Megaboss

  • Like 1
  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Don't forget its X + so you can roller higher than what you need, which i wasn't aware of.

out of 4 games ive had it go off twice - Mawcrusher on full wounds & a 20 man unit of iron breakers on an objective fully buffed

great spell!

 

 

Edited by Josh
  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

I dont know how i didn't think of itt hat way until now. Kinda makes the spell have some crazy potential, my math isnt terrible but it doesnt even seem that greatly unlikely to occur either.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Odds are pretty low honestly. The spell averages 1-2 damage most of the time. Off your initial 10 dice, less than 2 will be 6s on average.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

Create an account or sign in to comment

You need to be a member in order to leave a comment

Create an account

Sign up for a new account in our community. It's easy!

Register a new account

Sign in

Already have an account? Sign in here.

Sign In Now

×