heywoah_twitch

Hi I'm making this thread for battle reports with pictures in my quest to git gud with beast claw raiders!

beast.png.d994f934686119b2cb37c83a282704c6.png

I've taken some brief notes in my games leading up to this point, but I've decided to go ahead and do some actual battle reports in an effort to make our tga destruction forum more than just endless Ironjaws discussions - our GA is more than just orcs! I'm new to the hobby and wargaming in general, got my army assembled and base coated just in time to play one game pre-GHB17, so much of my journey to improve tactically has also been dealing with loss xD. The poor artist blames his tools, though, and so even though it was quite clear that BCR were dumpster-tier after the changes, theorycraft and playtesting are different beasts. I come from a very competitive MtG background, and my team regularly competes at thousand person grand prix day 2s, scg invitationals, and the pro tour, and one of our mantras when we feel like complaining about bad beats or an underpowered list is "Just Play Better". As in, yes, you could have a bad matchup or the wrong sideboard and these are very relevant, but don't underestimate the power of making less mistakes. Furthermore GW apparently listens to feedback and playtesting, so lets figure out what to recommend for ghb18!

Early Games:

My lists are eurlbad or jorlbad, with a thundertusk and either a 2nd tusk or a skal. 2-man msu mournfang as is the prevailing wisdom. sometimes no battalions, sometimes frostlord, sometimes 12 ogor allies, etc. honestly just trying all the combinations, even ones I think aren't very good. it pays to see first hand why something isn't recommended. These early games are from memory or one-sentence notes after the battle, so are sadly very short on useful info, but anyway.