'Competitive' Ironjawz

Malakithe

For the summer campaign I'm thinking the Realm of Life needs to be more...green.

I want to build a good all arounder with the main body, a battalion, being Ironjawz. 

I'm thinking a good one would be a weirdfist with lots of bodies. Then supporting with mr. maw. After that 2×thundertusks for that ranged power.

What else would be good for competitive play? 

• Replies 965
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I've very little practical knowledge with AoS at the moment and haven't played the Ironjawz at all. I'd think that the Ironfist or Brutefist might be better. I'd have to roll some dice and figure it out, but I'd probably rather get the extra movement, getting the Foot of Gork is still random though if the dice are hot it can be devastating. 

Hmmm.. A sound IronJaws army for any game.. 

1 Gorefist: 3 units of 3 Gore-Gruntas
- they will reach any objective and hold them! 
1 Brutefist: 3 units of 5 Brutes
- they really can kill whoever you charge!
1 Weirdfist: 3 units of 10 Ardboys with Shields
- potential killer spells that is can be outside normal unbind range, the shield makes the Ardboys last longer.
1 Megaboss
- makes your Brutes really brutal.

Using the SCGT this list is about 100 points.. Which is just nice for a quick game!

On 15 June 2016 at 9:51 PM, Malakithe said:

I was thinking ironfist but looking at it, it's still a d6" and the unit can't run anyway. So it's just letting you run in a different phase. 

Not quite… If you use the Ironfist move, you can still charge. That's the real benefit of it, it's essentially a Run + Charge. Also, it doesn't actually stop you running in the Movement phase. The wording is: