Welcome Guest!

Join us now to get access to all our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, and so, so much more. It's also quick and totally free, so what are you waiting for?

Attackmack

WIP - Shadespire custom board

10 posts in this topic

Attackmack    108

Hey all!

Ill throw this thread up as im just getting started and ill see where this goes. Hopefully ill get a decent finished result but we will see :)

In any case ill be trying to make a custom Shadespire board. Having first thought about making them with terrain built into the board ive changed my mind and will now make two "flat" boards and loose bits of terrain so that the various boards can be recreated. In the future, as more boards become availalbe, ill be able to recreate them by simply doing more terrain instead of entire boards! It might not look as good in the end but it will be helluva less work and space consuming!

This is 19mm MDF boards onto which im gluing 2mm MDF hex bases that is 50mm flat to flat. I used bbq sticks as spacers but I recon a thicker kind of wire or thread would make it quicker and simpler, if I had found any!

jKCaNGA.jpg

Beginning in the center of the board and going outwards will make sure I get more then enough excess at the edges for later! The skewers not being perfectly cut did give slight variantion in the spacing between the hexes which I wasnt planning for. Initially it might seem like a nice thing but since the two boards will have to fit perfectly edge to edge all around it might mean some "neutral zone" hexes will look warped. I hope it wont be too visible but we will see later.

xTkGeZD.jpg